Thu Aug 31
7:00 PM
Truman
Michigan Tech
40" TV Student Promotional Give-a-way
Sat Sep 09
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Hillsdale
Sat Sep 16
1:00 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Sep 23
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Sep 30
7:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 07
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Oct 14
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Oct 21
1:00 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Homecoming
Sat Oct 28
1:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Sat Nov 11
12:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Football

NCAA Tournament 2004, 2014 GLIAC Champions 2004, 2012

Cason Named GLIAC Special Teams Player of the Week

Cason Named GLIAC Special Teams Player of the Week

BAY CITY, Mich. — Michigan Tech football player Akeem Cason (Benton Harbor, Mich.) has been named GLIAC Special Teams Player of the Week after his performance in the No. 22-ranked Huskies 51-43 loss to No. 3 Grand Valley State last Saturday (Sept. 29).

Cason returned six kickoffs for 198 yards including a 98-yard return for a touchdown vs. GVSU. The senior's third career kickoff return TD came late in the third quarter as Tech was trailing 51-14, and swung the momentum of the game. The Huskies went on to score four consecutive touchdowns with three more in the fourth quarter to pull within 51-43 before running out of time. Cason now leads the GLIAC in kickoff returns with a 31.9 yards-per-return average. His 98-yard kickoff return was the longest in school history.

Michigan Tech will be back in action this Saturday (Oct. 6) against U.P. rival Northern Michigan. The annual Miner's Cup game is set for 1 p.m. at the Superior Dome.