No Event
Sat Nov 11
57 UW-Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at Minn. St. Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Hoops Opens Regular Season on the Road

Men's Hoops Opens Regular Season on the Road

PDF Game Notes

Michigan Tech will open the regular season at Southwest Minnesota State on Nov. 15th. The team will play at Minnesota Duluth on Nov. 17th.

The Series
Michigan Tech is 18-7 (.720) all-time against Southwest Minnesota State. Tech has won of the last seven meetings between the two schools, including a 68-61 win in Bemidji, Minn., last season.
 Michigan Tech is 28-29 (.491) in the all-time series against Minnesota Duluth that dates back to Dec. 11, 1948. The Huskies have won 14 of the last 20 games between the two schools, but the Bulldogs have won the last three, including an 81-80 win in Houghton last season.
Coach Luke
Head coach Kevin Luke enters his 19th season leading the Huskies. The four-time GLIAC Coach of Year has posted a 316-201 record as head coach.

Picked to Repeat
Michigan Tech was picked to finish first in the North Division of the GLIAC Preseason Poll. The Huskies finished with eight first-place votes and 157 points. Wayne State finished second with nine first-place votes and 155 points, followed by Ferris State with four first-place votes and 141 points.

Preseason Player of the Year
Haidar, who was named the league's player of the year in 2011-12, was named the GLIAC Preseason Player of the Year. Last season the Windsor, Ont., native averaged 19.1 points per game, 38th in the nation, and 9.4 rebounds, 19th best in the country.
 Haidar scored a game-high 26 points shooting 11-of-16 from the field against Finlandia on Nov. 7th. He also grabbed six rebounds.

Culy Earns Preseason Honor
Junior Alex Culy was named to the Preseason North Division Second Team. The Rice Lake, Wis., native averaged 8.8 points, including 57 3-pointers, fourth most in the league.
 Culy scored just one 3-pointer but finished with nine rebounds, three assists, two steals and one block.

Freshman Phenom
Freshman Kyle Stankowski scored 17 points in his first game in a Tech jersey. He shot 7-of-11 from the field and 4-of-5 from the free throw line. The Mosinee, Wis., native grabbed three rebounds in 11 minutes of work.

Last Time Out
Ali Haidar scored a game-high 26 points and four other players scored in double digits in a 117-53 win over Finlandia on Nov. 7th.

Looking Ahead
The team will face its third NSIC opponent of the season when it hosts Bemidji State Tuesday, Nov. 20.