No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 UW-Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at Minn. St. Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
1:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
TBA
TBA
Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
TBA
TBA
Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Sun Mar 04
TBA
TBA
Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Finals
Sat Mar 10
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ at TBA 2018 NCAA Regional Tournament (Mar. 10-13)
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men Headed to UWP for Final Non-Conference Game

Men Headed to UWP for Final Non-Conference Game

Complete Game Notes in PDF

Michigan Tech will play its final non-conference game of the regular season Saturday (Dec. 29) at UW-Parkside.  

The Series
Michigan Tech is 7-3 (.700) all-time against UW-Parkside. The Rangers defeated the Huskies last season in Houghton, 73-72, on a last second 3-pointer by Colt Grandstaff.   
 
Coach Luke
Head coach Kevin Luke enters his 19th season leading the Huskies. The four-time GLIAC Coach of Year has posted a 323-203 record as head coach.

In the Polls
Michigan Tech received votes in the latest National Association of Basketball Coaches Top-25 Poll. Complete poll located on page two.

Break
The game at UWP will be the first since a 75-55 win at Tiffin on Dec. 15, a span of 14 days. Parkside has not played a game since a 96-60 win over Clarke on Dec. 8th, a span of 20 days.

Big Game
Sophomore Phil Romback posted the best game of his career at Tiffin. The Black Creek, Wis., native scored a career-high 21 points and made his first six 3-point attempts. He also tallied four rebounds, two blocks, one steal and one assist.

Moving Up the Charts
Senior Ali Haidar currently ranks ninth in school history in scoring with 1,491 points. The Windsor, Ont., native needs 31 points to pass Jason Marcotte (2001-05) for eighth. Haidar currently ranks eighth in the nation in rebounding (10.8) and 10th in scoring (23.2).

Nation's Best
Saturday's game will feature two of the top scorers in the country. Tech's Ali Haidar ranks 10th (23.2 ppg) and Parkside's Jeremy Saffold is tied for 20th (21.0 ppg).

Defensive Battle
The meeting between Tech and Parkside is shaping up as a defensive battle. Tech is allowing 61 points per game, third fewest in the GLIAC, and Parkside is giving up 60 points per game, fifth fewest in the GLVC. Both teams are holding their opponents to 39-percent from the field.

Sharp Shooting
Michigan Tech currently ranks second in the league in field goal percentage at 49.6-percent. Grand Valley leads the GLIAC at 50.4-percent.

Protect the Ball
Michigan Tech is averaging 11.6 turnovers, second fewest in the league. Malone leads the league with 11.3.

Last Time Out
Sophomore Phil Romback scored a career-high 21 points to lead Michigan Tech to a 75-55 win at Tiffin on Dec. 15th.

Looking Ahead
Tech will host Lake Erie (Jan. 3) and Ashland (Jan. 5) in GLIAC action next week. The two games will be the final two against South Division opponents this season.