Sat Dec 10
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ohio Dominican
Thu Dec 15
7:30 PM
Hillsdale
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 17
6:00 PM
Findlay
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 31
2:00 PM
Ky. Wesleyan
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 05
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 07
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Thu Jan 12
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Jan 14
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Jan 19
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 26
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 28
3:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Mon Jan 30
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Feb 02
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 04
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men Extend Streak to Six with 66-48 Win over Lake Erie

Men Extend Streak to Six with 66-48 Win over Lake Erie

HOUGHTON, Mich. — The Michigan Tech men's basketball team took care of business at home tonight with a 66-48 GLIAC victory over Lake Erie. The teams battled through a back-and-forth first half before the Huskies' defense imposed its will in the second. The visitors scored just five points through the first 14 minutes of the second frame.

"We just didn't play Tech defense in the first half, and I got on the players about it at halftime," said head coach Kevin Luke. "They tightened up in the second half, and we were able to get some separation."

Tech (9-2 overall, 6-1 GLIAC) led 34-33 at the break, but the Storm scored a free throw to tie the contest to start the second. The hosts then went on a 22-4 run over the next 15 minutes to seize control. LEC misfired on 16 of its 18 field goal attempts and committed eight turnovers in that span.

The Huskies, meanwhile, were relatively efficient. The Black and Gold received points from several sources and converted on 14-of-16 free throw attempts to get the win.

Ali Haidar posted one better than his season scoring average with 24 points on 10-of-14 shooting. He added 10 rebounds and four blocks. Three other Huskies tallied in double figures. Ben Stelzer scored 12 points without a field goal, making all 12 of his free throw attempts.

Final shooting percentages were 50.0 for the Huskies and 33.3 for the Storm.

Lake Erie (4-6, 1-5 GLIAC) used heavy ball pressure and strong 3-point shooting (5-of-7 from behind the arc) to stay with the Huskies in the opening half. The visitors held four different leads including a five-point margin at the 8:00 mark of the frame. Tech outscored LEC 50-27 from that point forward.

Michigan Tech will put its six-game winning streak on the line Saturday (Jan. 5) in another GLIAC contest. South Division foe Ashland will come to the SDC Gym for a 1 p.m. tipoff.