Wed Nov 22
6:00 PM
Minnesota Duluth
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
4:00 PM
Concordia-St. Paul
Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
7:30 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
3:00 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
6:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Dec 09
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Hammond Campus (FRC)
Sun Dec 17
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
7:30 PM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
3:00 PM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Jan 20
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Ferris Snaps Tech Winning Streak

Ferris Snaps Tech Winning Streak

BIG RAPIDS, Mich. - Only five players scored for the Michigan Tech men's basketball team in a 74-66 loss at Ferris State in league action Thursday (Jan. 10). Tech falls to 10-3 overall and 7-2 in the GLIAC.

FSU used the home town crowd to open the game on a 13-2 run over the opening 4:11. The two teams would swap the lead during the first half, but the Bulldogs closed the half on a seven point run to lead 35-29 at the break.

FSU's lead would grow to as many as 13 points with 9:16 remaining. The Huskies would mount a comeback that would bring them within six points following a 3-pointer by sophomore Ben Stelzer at 5:13. The Bulldog lead would balloon back to double digits before finishing at eight, 74-66.

"I was not happy with the play of our bigs tonight. I was disappointed with our play tonight," said head coach Kevin Luke.

Senior Ali Haidar finished with 18 points and 10 rebounds, and junior Austin Armga chipped in 18.

Sophomore Ben Stelzer scored 16 points, including six three pointers, and four rebounds.

Junior Alex Culy and sophomore Phil Romback each tallied seven points to conclude the scoring for the Huskies.

Senior Kenny Brown scored 18 points to lead the Bulldogs.

Ferris shot 20-26 from the free throw line and Tech was 12-16. FSU finished with a 13-5 advantage in second chance points.

Tech committed 11 turnovers in the contest to seven by Ferris.

Tech will play at Grand Valley State Saturday (Jan. 12).