No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 UW-Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at Minn. St. Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
7:30 PM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
3:00 PM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Jan 20
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
3:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
7:30 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Grand Valley Men Defeat Tech Hoops

Grand Valley Men Defeat Tech Hoops

ALLENDALE, Mich. - Senior Ali Haidar scored 25 and sophomore Ben Stelzer added 21 for Michigan Tech but it was not enough as Grand Valley came away with a 70-65 win Saturday (Jan. 12). The Huskies fall to 10-4 overall and 7-3 in the league.

"We played a hell of a game today," said head coach Kevin Luke. "Today was the best we looked all year. Our guys gave a great effort today."

Stelzer jump started the Tech offensive draining back-to-back 3-pointers to open the contest, but the Lakers would slowly turn the tide over the course of the half. Following a 3-pointer by Stelzer at 9:39, Grand Valley would close the half on a 24-7 run to lead 38-26 at halftime.

The Huskies would close within three with 2:19 remaining in the second half following four straight points by Ali Haidar.

Tech's comeback was stalled by turnovers on its next two turnovers before falling by five, 70-65.

Stelzer finished with 21 points coming from seven 3-pointers. He added four rebounds, two assists and one steal.

Haidar scored 25 points shooting 9-of-16 from the field and 7-of-8 from the free throw line. He grabbed six rebounds and three assists.

Junior Austin Armga chipped in 10 points for the Black and Gold.

Breland Hogan led the Lakers with 16 points and Kristers Zeidaks added 13.

The stats were nearly even between the two teams. Grand Valley finished with a 24-20 advantage in rebounds, but Tech finished with an edge in assists 16-11.

Bench points finished 35-9 in advantage of GVSU.

Tech hosts Wayne State Thursday (Jan. 17).