Thu Dec 15
7:30 PM
Hillsdale
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 17
6:00 PM
Findlay
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 31
2:00 PM
Ky. Wesleyan
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 05
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 07
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Thu Jan 12
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Jan 14
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Jan 19
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 26
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 28
3:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Mon Jan 30
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Feb 02
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 04
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 09
7:30 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Grand Valley Men Defeat Tech Hoops

Grand Valley Men Defeat Tech Hoops

ALLENDALE, Mich. - Senior Ali Haidar scored 25 and sophomore Ben Stelzer added 21 for Michigan Tech but it was not enough as Grand Valley came away with a 70-65 win Saturday (Jan. 12). The Huskies fall to 10-4 overall and 7-3 in the league.

"We played a hell of a game today," said head coach Kevin Luke. "Today was the best we looked all year. Our guys gave a great effort today."

Stelzer jump started the Tech offensive draining back-to-back 3-pointers to open the contest, but the Lakers would slowly turn the tide over the course of the half. Following a 3-pointer by Stelzer at 9:39, Grand Valley would close the half on a 24-7 run to lead 38-26 at halftime.

The Huskies would close within three with 2:19 remaining in the second half following four straight points by Ali Haidar.

Tech's comeback was stalled by turnovers on its next two turnovers before falling by five, 70-65.

Stelzer finished with 21 points coming from seven 3-pointers. He added four rebounds, two assists and one steal.

Haidar scored 25 points shooting 9-of-16 from the field and 7-of-8 from the free throw line. He grabbed six rebounds and three assists.

Junior Austin Armga chipped in 10 points for the Black and Gold.

Breland Hogan led the Lakers with 16 points and Kristers Zeidaks added 13.

The stats were nearly even between the two teams. Grand Valley finished with a 24-20 advantage in rebounds, but Tech finished with an edge in assists 16-11.

Bench points finished 35-9 in advantage of GVSU.

Tech hosts Wayne State Thursday (Jan. 17).