Sat Dec 10
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ohio Dominican
Thu Dec 15
7:30 PM
Hillsdale
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 17
6:00 PM
Findlay
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 31
2:00 PM
Ky. Wesleyan
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 05
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 07
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Thu Jan 12
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Jan 14
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Thu Jan 19
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 26
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 28
3:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Mon Jan 30
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Feb 02
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 04
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Hoops Falls in Marquette

Men's Hoops Falls in Marquette

MARQUETTE, Mich. - Senior Ali Haidar scored 19 points and senior Matt Esters added 13 for the Michigan Tech men's basketball team in a 59-55 loss in Marquette Saturday (Feb. 2). NMU finished with an advantage in nearly every statistical category.

The Wildcats opened the contest with back-to-back three-pointers and posted their largest lead of nine points with 16:28 remaining.

Tech sophomore Ben Stelzer made a 3-pointer at the 8:53 mark to give the Huskies its first lead of the game 17-16.

Sophomore Phil Romback hit a 3-pointer of his own five minutes later to extend Tech's lead to four, 26-22, its largest of the half.

Tech shot 55-percent (12-22) compared to 46-percent (11-24) by Northern Michigan to led by one, 28-27, at halftime.

Haidar made a pair of free throws with just over two minutes remaining for the Huskies last lead of the game, 53-52.

The Wildcats out-scored the Huskies 7-1 over the final two minutes with all eight points coming from the free throw line.

Haidar finished with 19 points shooting 7-of-9 from the field and 5-of-7 from the line. He grabbed eight rebounds and dished out four assists.

Esters made all five of his free throws to finish with 13 points, one shy of his season-high.

Matt Craggs led three Wildcats in double-figures with a game-high 20 points.

Tech (13-6, 10-5) will host Ferris State Thursday (Feb. 7).