Sat Jan 21
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 26
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 28
3:00 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Mon Jan 30
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Feb 02
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Feb 04
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Feb 09
7:30 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 11
2:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 16
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Feb 18
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 23
7:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Tue Feb 28
TBA
GLIAC Quarterfinals
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sat Mar 04
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
Sun Mar 05
TBA
GLIAC Tournament
Michigan Tech
At High Seed
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Hoops Falls in Marquette

Men's Hoops Falls in Marquette

MARQUETTE, Mich. - Senior Ali Haidar scored 19 points and senior Matt Esters added 13 for the Michigan Tech men's basketball team in a 59-55 loss in Marquette Saturday (Feb. 2). NMU finished with an advantage in nearly every statistical category.

The Wildcats opened the contest with back-to-back three-pointers and posted their largest lead of nine points with 16:28 remaining.

Tech sophomore Ben Stelzer made a 3-pointer at the 8:53 mark to give the Huskies its first lead of the game 17-16.

Sophomore Phil Romback hit a 3-pointer of his own five minutes later to extend Tech's lead to four, 26-22, its largest of the half.

Tech shot 55-percent (12-22) compared to 46-percent (11-24) by Northern Michigan to led by one, 28-27, at halftime.

Haidar made a pair of free throws with just over two minutes remaining for the Huskies last lead of the game, 53-52.

The Wildcats out-scored the Huskies 7-1 over the final two minutes with all eight points coming from the free throw line.

Haidar finished with 19 points shooting 7-of-9 from the field and 5-of-7 from the line. He grabbed eight rebounds and dished out four assists.

Esters made all five of his free throws to finish with 13 points, one shy of his season-high.

Matt Craggs led three Wildcats in double-figures with a game-high 20 points.

Tech (13-6, 10-5) will host Ferris State Thursday (Feb. 7).