No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 UW-Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at Minn. St. Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
TBA
TBA
Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
TBA
TBA
Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Sun Mar 04
TBA
TBA
Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Finals
Sat Mar 10
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ at TBA 2018 NCAA Regional Tournament (Mar. 10-13)
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men Slay Warriors in Overtime

Men Slay Warriors in Overtime

DETROIT, Mich. - Senior Ali Haidar scored 29 points and grabbed 14 rebounds for the Michigan Tech men's basketball team in a 67-61 overtime win at Wayne State Thursday (Feb. 14). The win was the first for the Huskies in Detroit since 2003.

"It has been so long since we won at Wayne that they had peach baskets on the wall the last time it happened," said head coach Kevin Luke. "It was an exciting win for our program, and I am happy for our seniors."

Neither team could create much separation in the contest which featured 12 ties and 17 lead changes.

Sophomore Ben Stelzer gave the Huskies their largest lead of the game at eight points following a 3-pointer at 8:23 of the first half.

Wayne State answered with an 8-0 run over the next three minutes. Stelzer would make another 3-pointer and Haidar would add a free throw as the Huskies trailed 25-22 at halftime.

The battle continued throughout the second half with neither team leading by more than four points. Senior T.J. Brown gave the Huskies a two point lead with a lay-up with 44 seconds remaining. Chene Phillips answered with a lay-up for the Warriors 17 seconds later.

The Huskies had a chance to win at the buzzer but their 3-point attempt was off the mark.

Tech jumped out to a four point lead early in overtime with a field goal by Brown and a 3-pointer by junior Alex Culy.

Playing with the lead, the Huskies made 8-of-10 free throws to out-score the Warriors 13-7 in overtime for the win.

Haidar finished with three blocks, two steals and one assist to go along with his double-double (29 points, 14 rebounds).

Senior Matt Esters, who was playing in his hometown of Detroit, finished with 12 points, six rebounds and four assists.

Gerald Williams-Taylor led WSU with 17 points and 15 rebounds.

Tech finished with eight 3-pointers in the contest and held Wayne to just two. They also tallied a 21-15 edge in free throws.

Tech (16-6, 13-5) will play its final road game of the regular season at Saginaw Valley State Saturday (Feb. 16).