No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 UW-Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at Minn. St. Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
TBA
TBA
Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
TBA
TBA
Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Sun Mar 04
TBA
TBA
Michigan Tech
2018 GLIAC Tournament Finals
Sat Mar 10
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ at TBA 2018 NCAA Regional Tournament (Mar. 10-13)
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Open North Division Play With Win Over Ferris State

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team held Ferris State without a field goal for the final five minutes of the game and got back on the winning track, defeating the Bulldogs 74-64 on Thursday (Jan. 16) night. The Huskies had four players in double figures and are now 10-3 overall and 6-3 in the GLIAC.

Austin Armga had his 10th 20-point game with 21 points on 7-for-11 shooting. He also added four assists and three rebounds. Ben Stelzer finished with 15 points, seven rebounds and four assists. Alex Culy added 12 points on 4-for-6 shooting, along with five rebounds and two assists. Connor McLeod rounded out the Huskies in double figures with 10 points on 4-for-6 shooting to tie a career-high.

Tech held on to a one-point lead before Troy Hecht buried his second 3-pointer of the game with 4:59 on the clock.

The two teams went scoreless over the next two and half minutes before Jordan Chartier added to the lead with a three. Two possessions later, Ben Stelzer sidestepped a defender and scored a layup to give the Huskies a nine-point (71-62) lead with 1:21 remaining.

Ferris added two free throws while Armga made a free throw and Culy a layup to finish off the scoring for the 10-point win.

"It was a huge win for us tonight to begin North Division play," Tech coach Kevin Luke said. "I like the way our guys battled. Ferris played a nice game but we executed down the stretch and did what we had to do to pick up the win."

Tech led by nine at the break, 42-33. The Huskies jumped out to a 6-0 lead, but the visitors battled back and took a three-point lead with 12:50 before halftime. Tech then went on a 31-13 run and led by as many as 15 in the opening frame.

The home team led by 10 (47-37) three minutes into the second half but the Bulldogs chipped away and got the lead down to three, (52-49) after a 12-5 run with 12:00 on the clock.

Tech didn't lead by more than six until the final two minutes of the game.

The Huskies shot 46.3 percent (25-for-54) from the field and 12-for-27 (44.4 percent) from downtown.

Chartier finished with eight points and six rebounds while Hecht finished with six points and four boards. Jason Hawke was the other Husky in the scoring column with two.

"Troy and Connor were major sparks for us tonight," added Luke. "Both of Troy's threes were huge and Connor stepped in and made some shots. We just need to shore up a few things defensively and I'll feel real good about this team."

Ferris (6-7, 5-4 GLIAC) was led by Dietrich Lever with 19 points. Milton Cribbs (11), Drew Lehman (10) and Matt Poches (10) were also in double figures for the Bulldogs who shot 42.6 percent from the floor and 42.1 percent from three. FSU held a 37-34 advantage on the boards, including 12 on the offensive end.

The Huskies wrap up the weekend on Saturday (Jan. 18) when they host Grand Valley State. Tipoff against the Lakers is 3 p.m. after the women's game. GVSU defeated Northern Michigan 64-41 on Thursday.