No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 UW-Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at Minn. St. Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Huskies Suffer 68-47 Setback against Wayne State

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team came up empty Thursday night 68-47 against Wayne State University in a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference contest at the SDC Wood Gym. The Warriors collected the first 10 points of the game and the Huskies were unable to overcome the slow start and early deficit.

"It's catching up with us not defending well as a team and tonight it was very evident," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "It's effecting our offense as well and it led to a bad night shooting the basketball. Credit goes to Wayne State because they played a good game tonight. They out toughed us, they out executed us, and they wanted it more than us and they got it."

Wayne State (13-8, 10-7 GLIAC) vaulted out of the gate thanks to a hot start from Chuck Key who dropped in eight of the first 10 points on four layups. Clark Bishop capped with 10-0 scoring run by the Warriors on a jumper with 16:52 left in the first half. About a minute later, junior A.J. Grazulis put Michigan Tech (13-11, 11-6 GLIAC) on the board with a pair of free throws to make it a 10-2 Warrior advantage.

Wayne State went up 16-4 on a Clark Bishop layup at the 13:42 mark of the first half before the Huskies were able to piece together a 6-0 run to claw back within six points at 16-10. Sophomore Kyle Monroe connected on a triple from behind the arc followed by a conventional three-point play with 12:01 to go until the break. The Warriors then answered with five straight points of their own to push the Tech deficit back to double digits again at 21-10 with just over 11 minutes left in the first half.

Tech climbed to within nine points again at 30-21 on a trey by sophomore Bryan Heath with just under three minutes remaining in the opening 20 minutes. George Spencer would then answer with a three-point bucket of his own for WSU before two free throws by freshman Tommy Lucca sliced the Huskies gap to 33-23 right before the intermission.

Unfortunately, the Warriors had a quick start to the second half and in the first four minutes of the final frame had created a 17-point separation at 40-23. Key, Ronald Booth, and Bishop all contributed points in the 7-0 burst to begin the final period Thursday night for Wayne State. The Huskies were unable to get within striking distance the rest of the way.

Monroe scored a game high 25 points to pace Michigan Tech followed by Grazulis, Lucca, and Heath with six points apiece. Senior Jordan Chartier along with Heath shared the team in rebounds with four each. Junior Tanner Uren distributed three assists with Monroe, Chartier, and junior Dillon Gordon coming up with steals.

As a team, the Huskies converted 16 of 51 shots from the field (31.4%), were 4 of 21 from three-point range (19.0%), and 11 of 14 at the free throw stripe. Tech created seven points off turnovers and scored 22 points in the paint.

Key and Booth both tossed in 18 points for Wayne State followed by Spencer with 11 points and Marcus Moore had 10 points to round out the double digit scorers. Spencer also hauled down a team high eight rebounds while Booth dished out four assists. The Warriors were successful on 24 of 46 shots from the field (52.2%), connected on 7 of 14 attempts from behind the arc (50.0%), and converted 13 of 15 looks at the charity stripe (86.7%). Wayne State out-rebounded the Huskies 39-21 and scored 28 points in the paint.

The Huskies will look to regroup on Saturday when they host Saginaw Valley State for another GLIAC showdown. Tech is tied for second with Lake Superior State in the GLIAC North Division going into the contest. The tip-off is slated for 2 p.m.