No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 UW-Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at Minn. St. Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
7:30 PM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
3:00 PM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Jan 20
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
3:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
7:30 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Daily Mining Gazette: Dawson Bilski brings sharpshooting, winning mentality to Michigan Tech

Daily Mining Gazette: Dawson Bilski brings sharpshooting, winning mentality to Michigan Tech

By Bryce Derouin – Daily Mining Gazette
bderouin@mininggazette.com

Editor's Note: This feature originally appeared in the August 22 edition of the Daily Mining Gazette.

HOUGHTON, Mich. — Dawson Bilski brings an impressive record to Michigan Tech: He's never lost an officially organized basketball game in his life.

The North Central Jets' undefeated three-year state championship run is well-known, but Bilski's unbeaten streak extends all the way back to elementary school. From fifth and sixth grade, all the way through junior high, along with one 20-0 JV season as a freshman, and of course the state titles, Bilski never experienced defeat as a Jet. 

So what the heck is he going to feel when the Huskies eventually lose a game?

"If it does happen, I'll be pretty mad and upset," Bilski said. "I'll just put my mind into working in the gym and hoping to accomplish more wins."

The only losses Bilski has suffered on the basketball court came during his AAU career, meaning his first loss with Tech will be the most meaningful. Tech head coach Kevin Luke plans on discussing how to handle defeat with Bilski when Tech should lose its first game of the season. 

"That's something that we're going to have to address," Luke said. "It'll be interesting; he'll have to learn how to handle that. I hope it's very few losses, but he's not adjusted to losing — we like that, but it's going to be a reality."

If you've seen Bilski play, it's not hard to imagine him being a natural fit for Tech's offense. Bilski averaged 19.7 points per game, 8 rebounds, 4 assists, 2.8 steals and shot 59 percent from the field in his senior season, but it's his sharpshooting from 3-point range that makes him a lethal threat, where he shot 49 percent from beyond the arc 

"When I went up to Tech for a couple of my visits and watched their games, when I saw guys coming off screens and hitting 3s, you could tell they're a run-and-gun team," Bilski said. "That's what I love to do. Coming off screens, hopefully I can do that all the time. Seeing the style of play made it easier for me to decide (to commit), especially seeing how they play as a team."

Click here for the rest of the story