No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 UW-Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at Minn. St. Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Sat Nov 10
TBA
TBA
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Marquette, Mich. (Northern Michigan Tournament)
Sun Nov 11
TBA
TBA
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Marquette, Mich. (Northern Michigan Tournament)
Sun Nov 18
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Erie, Pa. (Gannon University Tournament)
Sat Nov 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Erie, Pa. (Gannon University Tournament)
Thu Nov 29
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
7:30 PM
UW-Parkside
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
3:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
6:00 PM
Wis.-Stout
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
5:30 PM
Winona State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
TBA
Michigan Tech
at UW-Parkside
Thu Feb 07
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
2:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Mar 02
2:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
View Full Schedule

Daily Mining Gazette: Dawson Bilski brings sharpshooting, winning mentality to Michigan Tech

Daily Mining Gazette: Dawson Bilski brings sharpshooting, winning mentality to Michigan Tech

By Bryce Derouin – Daily Mining Gazette
bderouin@mininggazette.com

Editor's Note: This feature originally appeared in the August 22 edition of the Daily Mining Gazette.

HOUGHTON, Mich. — Dawson Bilski brings an impressive record to Michigan Tech: He's never lost an officially organized basketball game in his life.

The North Central Jets' undefeated three-year state championship run is well-known, but Bilski's unbeaten streak extends all the way back to elementary school. From fifth and sixth grade, all the way through junior high, along with one 20-0 JV season as a freshman, and of course the state titles, Bilski never experienced defeat as a Jet. 

So what the heck is he going to feel when the Huskies eventually lose a game?

"If it does happen, I'll be pretty mad and upset," Bilski said. "I'll just put my mind into working in the gym and hoping to accomplish more wins."

The only losses Bilski has suffered on the basketball court came during his AAU career, meaning his first loss with Tech will be the most meaningful. Tech head coach Kevin Luke plans on discussing how to handle defeat with Bilski when Tech should lose its first game of the season. 

"That's something that we're going to have to address," Luke said. "It'll be interesting; he'll have to learn how to handle that. I hope it's very few losses, but he's not adjusted to losing — we like that, but it's going to be a reality."

If you've seen Bilski play, it's not hard to imagine him being a natural fit for Tech's offense. Bilski averaged 19.7 points per game, 8 rebounds, 4 assists, 2.8 steals and shot 59 percent from the field in his senior season, but it's his sharpshooting from 3-point range that makes him a lethal threat, where he shot 49 percent from beyond the arc 

"When I went up to Tech for a couple of my visits and watched their games, when I saw guys coming off screens and hitting 3s, you could tell they're a run-and-gun team," Bilski said. "That's what I love to do. Coming off screens, hopefully I can do that all the time. Seeing the style of play made it easier for me to decide (to commit), especially seeing how they play as a team."

Click here for the rest of the story