No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 UW-Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at Minn. St. Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
7:30 PM
Ashland
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
3:00 PM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Jan 20
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Jan 27
3:00 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
3:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
7:30 PM
Wayne State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Daily Mining Gazette: Negaunee’s Bell gives Tech more frontcourt depth

Daily Mining Gazette: Negaunee’s Bell gives Tech more frontcourt depth

By Bryce Derouin – Daily Mining Gazette
bderouin@mininggazette.com

Editor's Note: This feature originally appeared in the August 23 edition of the Daily Mining Gazette.

HOUGHTON, Mich. — The Trent Bell Michigan Tech fans will see in the near future — the one relentlessly attacking the glass and chasing after every loose ball —  was molded into a high-energy player during his time as a Negaunee Miner. 

"In high school it started when Dan Waterman was the head coach," Bell said of his relentless drive. "If you didn't go for a loose ball, you came out of the game, so I just keep it going after having success (playing like that)."

Bell, a 6-foot-7 senior, utilized his offensive versatility — whether it was dominating in the post, taking a defender off the dribble or knocking down a 3 — to average 19.6 points, 10.7 rebounds, 2 steals, 2 blocks and 1 assist per game as senior for Negaunee. Bell was runner-up for the U.P. Class ABC Player of the Year award, and was also a member of the All-U.P. Dream Team.

"I think Trent's going to be a great player for (Tech)," Waterman said after Bell scored 24 points and grabbed 14 rebounds in a 79-44 win over the Calumet Copper Kings on Jan. 31. "He's just starting to scratch the surface at what he will be as a player. I think they got a steal and they got him before anyone realized how good Trent is going to be."

Along with incoming freshman Dawson Bilski, Tech head coach Kevin Luke believes Bell will have the opportunity to make an impact during the upcoming season as a part of the frontcourt rotation. 

"He's going to be a surprise to a lot of people because he's a really good player," Luke said. "I'm expecting him to come in and give us good minutes in the post position… He has a great motor, great skill, unselfish and he's going to be right in there with Dawson for valuable minutes."

Bell and Bilski were two of the top talents in a solid U.P. senior class last season. Both are familiar with each other after playing together throughout the summers, and both will major in wildlife management.

"Through the recruiting process, we felt like we always had a great relationship with them," Luke said. "I'm glad to have them because they are really good U.P. performers; to have them in our program means a lot, because we try to get the best players in the U.P. every year."

Click here for the rest of the story