No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
Final
39 UW-Stout
81 Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
5:30 PM
Winona State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
2:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
7:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Fall to 15th Ranked Southwest Minnesota State

Huskies Fall to 15th Ranked Southwest Minnesota State

MOORHEAD, Minn. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team fell in game one of the Microtel Classic Friday night to 15th ranked Southwest Minnesota State 65-52. The Huskies held the advantage for the majority of the first half and into the second, but a 16-2 run by the Mustangs over a span of six minutes midway through the second half turned the tide of the game.

"I thought we were average in the first half and in the second half we really struggled," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "We got exposed in every facet of the game, offense, defense, rebounding, and they out toughed us. Hopefully we can learn from tonight's game and get ready to play against another really good team in Minnesota State Moorhead tomorrow."

Michigan Tech (2-1) delivered the first points of the night when junior Kyle Monroe drove to the basket for a layup in the opening 25 seconds. Southwest Minnesota State (2-2) countered with a couple of free throws after Carter Kirk made his way to the line following a Tech foul. Kirk cashed in on both looks at the charity stripe to tie the score at 2-2 with 19:19 on the clock.

The Huskies then countered with a 7-0 scoring run that would put them in front for the rest of the half. Senior A.J. Grazulis tossed in a layup off an assist by senior Tanner Uren and then Uren drilled a triple to create a 7-2 gap. Uren went ahead a finished off the run when he came up with steal and drove to the other end of the floor for a jumper to make it 9-2 with 17:29 left in the first.

The Mustangs closed the gap back to two points at 13-11 on a jumper from Taylor Schafer and from there the Huskies lead would fluctuate from one to two possessions during the next few minutes. Leading 22-18 with just over nine minutes to go until the break, Tech created its largest lead of the half at 27-19 on a three-point bucket by freshman Isaac Appleby and a jumper in the paint from sophomore Ryan Schuller.

Unfortunately, the Huskies couldn't pull away further as the Mustangs stayed close with some crucial buckets going into the break. Southwest Minnesota State pulled to within four points at 37-33 on a field goal by Nick Dufault with 35 second showing on the clock.

Michigan Tech bumped the lead back up to five points twice in the second half, including at the 12:33 mark when Uren found the target on a layup after securing an offensive rebound. The two-point bucket gave the Huskies a 46-41 edge at that juncture of the contest.

Momentum then swung in the Mustangs favor when Ryan Bruggeman began the scoring run on a layup in the paint. Lee followed with another layup and then gave SMSU the lead at 48-46 on a triple with 11:21 to play. By the end of the scoring burst, the Mustangs had constructed a 57-48 edge on a Bruggeman three-pointer with 7:17 to go. The Mustangs didn't allow the Huskies to make a counter attack before closing out the night.

Michigan Tech had three players in double figures, led by Heath with 13 points followed by Appleby and Monroe with 10 points each. Uren chipped in seven points and he along with Monroe grabbed a team best five rebounds. Grazulis nearly reached double digits with eight points. As a team, the Huskies were 23 of 52 from the field (44.2%), 4 of 16 from behind the arc (25.0%), and 2 of 4 at the free throw line (50.0%).

Bruggeman guided the Mustangs with 17 points, four rebounds, three assists, and five steals. Schafer tossed in 13 points off the bench and Dufault tacked on 11 points. Kirk and Turner Moen shared the team lead in rebounds with seven.

The Huskies will be back on the court Saturday when they take on Minnesota State Moorhead on day two of the Microtel Classic. The tip-off is scheduled for 5 p.m. EST.