No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
6:00 PM
UW-Stout
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
5:30 PM
Winona State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
2:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
7:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
View Full Schedule

Huskies Fall to Lake Superior State 70-56 in GLIAC Semifinals

Photo Courtesy of Ferris State Athletics
Photo Courtesy of Ferris State Athletics

BIG RAPIDS, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team had its postseason season run come to an end in the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Semifinals Saturday, falling to the No. 2 seed Lake Superior State 70-56. The Huskies, who were the No. 6 seed in this year's tournament, advanced to the GLIAC Final Four for the second year in a row with an 88-74 win Wednesday night at Wayne State.

"I thought Lake Superior State played better than we did today," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "I felt like we had a decent first half, but the roles changed in the second. They weren't shooting very well in the first half and got hot in the second half. Our offense cooled off in the final 20 minutes and credit their defense because I thought they did a good job covering up with help on Monroe and getting to the shooters. I'm very proud our guys for getting here to the semifinals, but wish we could have made a little better showing against a good Lake Superior State team."

Lake Superior State (24-6) opened the game with a 9-3 run that was capped by a Tim Cairnduff three-point bucket with 17:50 left on the first half clock. Michigan Tech (15-14) continued to trail by six points at 15-9 with just over 13 minutes to go until the break, but junior Kyle Monroe sparked what turned into a 16-2 scoring run on a triple at the 12:49 mark. Senior Dillon Gordon followed by getting to the rim for a layup and then Monroe gave the Huskies their first lead of the contest at 17-16 with 11:08 on the clock.

The Lakers momentarily tied the game 17-17 on a free throw from Ke'Montrece Collins, but it wouldn't stay deadlocked for long. Gordon recorded another layup to make it 19-17 before six straight points by junior Bryan Heath created Tech's largest advantage of the game. Heath sank two free throws and followed it up with a pair of layups to make it a 25-17 score with just under nine minutes to go until halftime.

The Lakers rallied back to slip in front 30-25 on a Jackson Schrameyer layup followed by two free throws each from Blake Marquardt and Akaemji Williams with 5:47 left in the half. However, the Huskies countered the seven consecutive points to recapture the edge at 32-30. Freshman Trent Bell completed a conventional three-point play with a layup and free throw to vault the Huskies back in front. Four consecutive points by Lake Superior State put Tech behind once again, but Monroe sank another three-point basket with 1:16 left in the half to give the Huskies a 35-34 edge at the intermission.

Senior A.J. Grazulis notched the first points of the second half for Tech to make it 37-34 and from there the Huskies' lead would fluctuate from one to three points during the next few minutes. Heath bumped the score to 44-41 in favor of the Huskies with 13:36 to play, but unfortunately Tech went on a scoring draught for five minutes after that basket.

That opened the door for the Lakers to establish a foothold in the game. During that same span of time Lake Superior State put together a 16-0 scoring burst to establish a double digit lead. Collings notched the final two points in the run to make it a 57-44 score with 8:35 remaining on the clock. The Huskies were unable to recover and trailed by double digits the rest of the way.

Monroe guided the Huskies on offense with 15 points and grabbed a team high nine rebounds in Saturday's semifinal game. Heath followed with 14 points, five rebounds, and five assists while Grazulis chipped in seven points and six rebounds. Freshman Isaac Appleby dished out a team best six assists. As a team, the Huskies made 23 of 54 shots from the field (42.6%), were 5 of 19 from three-point range (26.3%), and 5 of 7 at the free throw line (71.4%).

Williams fired in a game high 18 points and nearly reached a double-double thanks to nine assists for the Lakers. Cairnduff dropped in 12 points while Michael Nicholson added seven points and a team high nine rebounds. Lake Superior State found the target on 25 of 62 shots from the field (40.3%), made 7 of 18 attempts from three-point range (38.9%), and converted 13 of 21 chances at the free throw line (61.9%). The Lakers had the advantage in rebounding Saturday 41-34.

The Huskies' season comes to a close after making their 21st appearance in the GLIAC Tournament under Head Coach Kevin Luke. Tech has been to the semifinals 17 times and has three tournament titles during that stretch.