Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
5:30 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Alderson Broaddus
@ Erie, Pa. (Gannon University Tournament)
Sat Nov 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Erie, Pa. (Gannon University Tournament)
Thu Nov 29
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
7:30 PM
Parkside
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
3:00 PM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
6:00 PM
UW-Stout
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
5:30 PM
Winona State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
2:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
7:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Huskies Have Strong Showing at NCAA Division I UW-Green Bay

Huskies Have Strong Showing at NCAA Division I UW-Green Bay

GREEN BAY, Wis. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team traveled to NCAA Division I UW-Green Bay Thursday night and gave the Phoenix all they could handle in a 94-74 exhibition loss. The Huskies led 40-35 at the break and went up by as many as 14 points in the second half before Green Bay put together a late charge to pull out the win.

"I'm proud of our players and the effort they gave tonight on the road against a solid NCAA Division I program in UW-Green Bay," Michigan Tech Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "We executed our systems really well throughout the night and had solid contributions from a number of players. However, in the end their athleticism took over and created problems for us in the last few minutes of the game. Overall, it was a good effort by our club and we'll focus on getting better this week as we get set to begin the regular season next weekend against Lewis and McKendree."

After both teams traded a couple of baskets at the outset, the Huskies grabbed their first lead of the night on a triple by senior Bryan Heath to make it a 5-4 score two minutes into the action. Sophomore Dawson Bilski added two more points to Michigan Tech's advantage on a layup when junior Ryan Schuller found him cutting to the basket with 17:33 showing on the first half clock.

Sandy Cohen III briefly tied the game for UW-Green Bay on the ensuing possession, but the Huskies took off from there on a 13-2 scoring run. Heath connected on a triple from downtown followed by a jumper from freshman Jake Witt, two three-pointers by sophomore Isaac Appleby, and a jumper in the paint by Heath to cap the scoring run with 12:40 on the clock.

The Huskies established a 20-8 advantage at that juncture before the Phoenix clawed back to within one at 26-25 on a conventional three-point play by Manny Patterson with just over seven minutes to play until the break. Tech's lead fluctuated back up to seven points at 39-32 with 1:31 left in the first on a free throw from junior Tommy Lucca before the Huskies settled in with a 40-35 edge at the intermission.

The Huskies blasted out of the gate to start the second half and opened up a double digit lead again at 50-40 on a trey from Bilski with 16:56 to go. It quickly grew to 14 points at 54-40 on a Witt midrange jumper just a few seconds later. Cohen III slowed the Huskies down by answering with a three-pointer of his own as UW-Green Bay began to chip away at the gap over the next few minutes.

The Phoenix eventually slipped back in front 61-59 on a layup by Trevian Bell with just over 11 minutes to play, but a free throw courtesy of redshirt freshman Kyle Clow and another three-point basket by Bilski pushed the Huskies back to a 63-61 lead at the 10:20 mark. The two sides then exchanged buckets for three minutes until the Phoenix were able to turn the tide of the contest.

With the score tied 67-67 and 7:20 showing on the clock, Cohen III found the mark again from long range to send Green Bay into the lead. That sparked a 12-0 run that culminated on a pair of free throws by Patterson to make it a 79-67 score with 5:18 remaining in the second half. Unfortunately, the Huskies were unable to bounce back from the scoring burst by Green Bay as the Phoenix eventually pulled away for the 94-74 exhibition win.

Four Tech players had 10 or more points Thursday night, led by Bilski with 20 on an 8 of 12 shooting night from the field. He was 4 for 7 from three-point range, grabbed three rebounds, and dished out three assists. Heath along with Witt followed with 12 points apiece while Appleby rounded out the double digit scorers with 10 points. Witt was Tech's leading rebounder thanks to eight boards in 22 minutes of work on the floor.

As a team, the Huskies connected on 25 of 60 shots from the field (41.7%), were 8 of 22 from behind the three-point arc (36.4%), and 16 of 24 at the free throw line (66.7%). Tech had a solid 42-33 advantage in rebounding, recorded 12 second chance points, and had 24 points in the paint. The reserves posted 36 of Tech's 74 points in Thursday night's showdown with the Phoenix.

Green Bay's Cohen III led all scorers with a game high 28 points followed by JayQuan McCloud with 12 points. ShanQuan Hemphill and Patterson tacked on 10 points apiece with Hemphill pulling down a team high eight rebounds. The Phoenix knocked down 32 of 61 shots from the field (52.5%), were 13 of 25 from long distance (52.0%), and 17 of 28 at the free throw line (60.7%).

The Huskies will tip-off the regular season over in Marquette at the GLIAC/GLVC Challenge against Lewis University next Saturday November 10th at 1 p.m. Tech will then wrap up the weekend on Sunday afternoon against McKendree University at 1 p.m.