No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Nov 11
Final
57 Parkside
82 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend
Sun Nov 12
Final
80 Lewis
87 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 17
Final
52 Michigan Tech
65 vs. Southwest Minn. St.
@ Moorhead, Minn.
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
82 Michigan Tech
89 at MSU-Moorhead
Wed Nov 22
Final
84 Minnesota Duluth
69 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 25
Final
57 Concordia-St. Paul
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Nov 30
Final
67 Saginaw Valley State
75 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 02
Final
70 Northwood
87 Michigan Tech
Thu Dec 07
Final
78 Michigan Tech
68 vs. Grand Valley State
@ Grand Rapids, Mich. (Deltaplex Arena) Grand Rapids, Mich. (DeltaPlex)
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Michigan Tech
66 at Purdue Northwest
Westville Campus
Sun Dec 17
Final
65 Michigan Tech
77 at Northern Michigan
Tue Dec 19
Final
66 Michigan Tech
98 at Winona State
Thu Jan 04
Final
73 Ashland
62 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 06
Final
86 Tiffin
68 Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 11
Final
66 Michigan Tech
85 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 13
Final
73 Michigan Tech
84 at Lake Superior State
Thu Jan 18
Final
76 Michigan Tech
66 at Wayne State
Thu Jan 25
Final
71 Michigan Tech
64 vs. Davenport
@ Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Sun Jan 28
Final
66 Northern Michigan
77 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 01
Final
75 Grand Valley State
77 Michigan Tech
$25,000 Truck Promo
Sat Feb 03
Final
46 Purdue Northwest
72 Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 08
Final - 2OT
94 Michigan Tech
105 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Feb 10
Final
75 Michigan Tech
70 at Northwood
Thu Feb 15
Final - OT
89 Ferris State
84 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final - OT
80 Lake Superior State
76 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Thu Feb 22
Final - OT
78 Wayne State
81 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 24
Final - OT
101 Davenport
99 Michigan Tech
Wed Feb 28
Final
88 Michigan Tech
74 at Wayne State
2018 GLIAC Tournament Quarterfinal
Sat Mar 03
Final
56 Michigan Tech
70 vs. Lake Superior State
@ Big Rapids, Mich. 2018 GLIAC Tournament Semifinal
Thu Nov 01
Final
74 Michigan Tech
94 at Wis.-Green Bay
Sat Nov 10
Final
53 Michigan Tech
74 vs. Lewis
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 11
Final
75 Michigan Tech
67 vs. McKendree
@ Marquette, Mich.
Sun Nov 18
Final
56 Michigan Tech
61 at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Nov 23
Final
69 Alderson Broaddus
78 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Erie, Pa. (Hammermill Center) 35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Sat Nov 24
Final
50 Michigan Tech
43 at Gannon
35th Annual Gary Miller Classic
Thu Nov 29
Final
61 Michigan Tech
56 at Saginaw Valley State
Sat Dec 01
Final
70 Michigan Tech
75 at Northwood
Thu Dec 06
Final
70 Parkside
53 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 08
Final
62 Purdue Northwest
78 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 15
6:00 PM
UW-Stout
Michigan Tech
Wed Dec 19
5:30 PM
Winona State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ashland
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Thu Jan 10
7:30 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Thu Jan 17
7:30 PM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Alumni Day & Vollwerth's Family Day
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Thu Jan 31
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Purdue Northwest
Sat Feb 02
4:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Parkside
Thu Feb 07
7:30 PM
Northwood
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 09
2:00 PM
Saginaw Valley State
Michigan Tech
Thu Feb 14
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Sat Feb 16
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Thu Feb 21
7:30 PM
Michigan Tech
at Davenport
Sat Feb 23
3:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Thu Feb 28
7:30 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
View Full Schedule

Huskies Stumble against Parkside 70-53

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The Michigan Tech men's basketball team fell in the 2018-19 home opener to Parkside 70-53 Thursday night in a Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference contest at the SDC Gym. The Huskies fell behind early and battled back to within 10 points in the second half, but the Rangers countered with a run of their own to pull away down the stretch.

"The second half was a little bit better, but we didn't execute offensively or defensively in the first half and got behind early," Head Coach Kevin Luke said. "Our players didn't quit and we cut the deficit to 10 points with a chance to get it to single digits, but they hit a big three to stop the run. Credit goes to Parkside because they executed their systems well and were the better club tonight.

"We need to work on some things to get better and maybe this process is going to be a little more difficult than what I had in the game plan for us. Overall, we looked like a young and inexperienced team tonight. Our young players are getting it a little bit though and we have to stick with them."

Michigan Tech (4-4, 1-2 GLIAC) had a promising start when junior Ryan Schuller put the Huskies on the board with a layup to begin the game. The Tech defense then came up with a couple of stops before senior Bryan Heath found the bottom of the net on a triple to make it a 5-0 score with 18:34 on the clock.

Parkside (3-3, 2-1 GLIAC) would counter though with the next 10 points, starting with a layup courtesy of D'Aaron Owens at the 7:20 mark. Brandon Hau tied the contest with a triple and then baskets from Chavares Flanigan and Joe Borcia made it a 9-5 game. Brandon Trimble capped the run on a free throw to extend the Rangers lead to 10-5 with 12:52 to play until the break.

The Huskies battled back to draw within one thanks to solid play from freshman Owen White and sophomore Trent Bell. White sank two shots at the charity stripe and Bell followed that up with a defensive rebound and successful mid-range jumper on the offensive end of the floor. Bell's bucket made it a 10-9 contest with just under 12 minutes remaining on the first half clock.

Unfortunately, the Rangers would swing the momentum squarely in their favor with an 11-0 scoring surge over the next six minutes. Flanigan found the distance from three-point range to get it rolling and then Linwood Lee capped it with two free throws, giving Parkside a 21-9 advantage with 6:22 left in the first. The Rangers expanded the lead to 34-16 in the final minute of the opening half when Flanigan produced the final points on a traditional three-point play.

The Huskies faced an uphill battle, but didn't give up by making a bid to get back within striking distance midway through the second half. Trailing 46-24 with 13:19 on the clock, Tech engineered nine straight points to slice the deficit down to 46-33 at the 10:35 mark. White along with Bell and freshman Jake Witt powered the run, which culminated on a Witt layup.

Owens broke the scoreless streak for the Rangers momentarily with a three-point basket on the ensuing possession, but the Huskies reeled off eight of the next 10 points in the contest to pull within 10 at 51-41. Bell landed home a dunk and sophomore Dawson Bilski filled up two three pointers, putting Tech right back into contention with 7:22 to play.

However, just a few seconds later the Rangers shutdown the comeback bid, starting with another Flanigan trey. His basket kicked off a 10-0 Parkside run that created a 61-41 lead with 4:50 to go and put the game out of reach.

Bilski powered the Huskies offense with 16 points, connecting on 6 of 11 shots from the field with four of his makes coming from three-point land. Bilski also added three rebounds, a steal, and an assist. White followed with 11 points while Witt just missed double digit point totals with nine points and eight rebounds. Bell grabbed a team and career high 10 rebounds and nearly posted a double-double with eight points.

As a team, the Huskies were successful on 19 of 57 shots from the field (33.3%), connected on 5 of 16 chances from behind the arc (31.3%), and converted 10 of 11 opportunities at the charity stripe (90.9%). Tech out-rebounded Parkside 40-26 and in turn that helped lead to 14 second chance points Thursday night.

Flanigan poured in a game high 22 points for the Rangers, dialing in 8 of 10 shots from the floor. Brandon Trimble followed with 13 points while Hau chipped in nine points and a team high five rebounds. Parkside was on target with 26 of 52 shots from the field (50.0%), knocked down 9 of 18 attempts from long distance (50.0%), and went 9 of 11 at the free throw line (81.8%). The Rangers generated 21 points off of turnovers and posted 30 points in the paint.

The Huskies will look to rebound on Saturday when they host Purdue Northwest in another GLIAC showdown at the SDC Gym. The Pride fell to Northern Michigan in Marquette Thursday night 108-69. Saturday's tip-off is slated for 3 p.m.