Fri Dec 09
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Dec 10
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Thu Dec 29
3:30 PM
Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Joe Louis Arena, Detroit 52nd Annual Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Dec 30
TBA
Michigan State/Western Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Joe Louis Arena, Detroit 52nd Annual Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Jan 06
7:35 PM
Michigan Tech
at Notre Dame
Sat Jan 07
7:05 PM
Michigan Tech
at Notre Dame
Fri Jan 13
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 14
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 20
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 27
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alabama Huntsville
Sat Jan 28
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alabama Huntsville
Fri Feb 03
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Sat Feb 04
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Fri Feb 10
7:07 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Ice Hockey

Three-Time NCAA Champions Eight-Time WCHA Champions

Hockey Huskies Picked Ninth in WCHA Preseason Media Poll

Hockey Huskies Picked Ninth in WCHA Preseason Media Poll

DULUTH, Minn. — Michigan Tech was picked ninth in the 2012-13 Western Collegiate Hockey Association Preseason Media Poll that was compiled by radio station 94X in Duluth.

The Huskies, a year removed from finishing eighth in the league standings, finished ahead of Minnesota State, Bemidji State and Alaska Anchorage in the poll.

Minnesota was nearly unanimous as the top pick, followed by North Dakota, Denver, Wisconsin, Minnesota Duluth, St. Cloud State, Colorado College and Nebraska Omaha.

Michigan Tech will open its season with an exhibition Oct. 6 vs. Canadian university Brock. The regular season opens Oct. 11 at Lake Superior State with the Huskies WCHA opener set for Oct. 19 vs. the preseason favorite Minnesota.

The full media poll is below.

Teams were scored under a standard system of 12 points for a first-place vote, 11 for second, and so on. The number listed with each team is the number of points that team averaged per vote.
 
94X WCHA PRESEASON MEDIA POLL
PREDICTED ORDER OF FINISH

1. Minnesota (24 first place votes) … 11.92 poll average
2. North Dakota (1) … 10.76
3. Denver … 9.92
4. Wisconsin … 7.8
5. Minnesota Duluth … 6.88
6. St. Cloud State … 6.84
7. Colorado College … 6.08
8. Nebraska Omaha … 5.48
9. Michigan Tech … 5.2
10. Minnesota State … 3.6
11. Bemidji State … 2.48
12. Alaska Anchorage … 1.04

Teams were scored under a standard system of 12 points for a first-place vote, 11 for second, and so on. The number listed with each team is the number of points that team averaged per vote.