No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
Final
2 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
Final
5 Michigan Tech
3 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Fri Mar 09
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 11
Final - OT
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 3
Sat Mar 17
Final
2 Michigan Tech
0 at Northern Michigan
WCHA Championship Game
Fri Mar 23
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Notre Dame
@ Bridgeport, CT NCAA Tournament - East Region Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Hockey Huskies Beat No. 1 Minnesota 5-3

Hockey Huskies Beat No. 1 Minnesota 5-3

HOUGHTON, Mich. — Michigan Tech buried its scoring chances and freshman goaltender Pheonix Copley played a strong game as the Huskies defeated No. 1-ranked Minnesota 5-3. Blake Pietila scored two goals and Dennis Rix added a goal and an assist to help Tech improve to 2-1-0 overall and 1-0-0 in WCHA play.

The hosts scored just 3:32 into the game, built a 3-1 lead after one period and a 5-2 lead after two en route to the win.

"We got off to a good start," said head coach Mel Pearson. "(Alex) Petan scored a great goal, and things seemed to go in for us. We really capitalized on our chances."


Petan scored the game's opening goal with a SportsCenter Top 10 play. Fellow freshman Jujhar Khaira passed to Petan on a 2-on-1 breakaway. The pass was out in front of Petan. He dove to stop the puck, then stood up and buried a shot into the top right corner.

Minnesota (2-1-0, 0-1-0 WCHA) tied the score with a four-on-four goal after Nate Schmidt put home a rebound at the 9:13 mark.

The Huskies answered five minutes later with back-to-back goals. Blake Pietila tipped a shot from Ryan Furne while on the power play at the 14:48 mark. Twenty-two seconds later, Dennis Rix scored his third goal in as many games with a tap in of a C.J. Eick centering pass.

The Gophers pulled within 3-2 when Nick Bjugstad netted a shot 2:51 into the second period. Again, the Huskies answered with two goals.

Rix feathered a pass to Chad Pietila on a breakaway and Pietila didn't miss. He went top shelf for his first goal of the season in his first game. Minnesota changed goaltenders after the tally, but Tech scored the next goal anyway.

Blake Pietila notched his second of the night after Tanner Kero backhanded a pretty pass with a defender draped on his back. The goal came at the 18:27 mark of the second.

Copley made several big saves to keep the Huskies in a 5-2 lead deep into the third period. The Gophers finally scored on the power play with little over two minutes remaining. UM brought on the extra attacker for the final 1:57, but Tech was able withstand the pressure.

"Pheonix played a heck of a hockey game," said Pearson. "He was a difference maker for us tonight."

The Huskies' netminder made 28 saves on 31 Gopher shots. Tech put 26 shots on goal. Both teams were 1-for-3 on the power play.

Michigan Tech and Minnesota will meet again tomorrow night to wrap up their two-game, WCHA-opening series.

Notes: Tech has scored 13 goals in its last two games … The Huskies are 4-1-2 against top-three ranked teams since the start of 2011-12 … Tech's last win over a No. 1-ranked team was Jan. 28, 2012, at Minnesota Duluth (5-0) … Attendance was 3,410.