No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
2:37 PM
Michigan State
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Tue Jan 02
TBA
Michigan / Bowling Green
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Fri Jan 05
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Boston College
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Sat Jan 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Fri Jan 19
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
7:37 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
7:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
5:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

No. 1 Minnesota Edges Tech 3-2, Splits Series

No. 1 Minnesota Edges Tech 3-2, Splits Series

HOUGHTON, Mich. — Michigan Tech skated deep into the third period tied with No. 1-ranked Minnesota before the Gophers scored the game winner for a 3-2 victory. Seth Ambroz scored on a shot from the slot with 3:35 remaining, and the teams split the WCHA-opening weekend series.

Minnesota (3-1-0, 1-1-0 WCHA) held a 34-18 advantage in shots in the game, but Tech (2-2-0, 1-1-0 WCHA) found a way to stay in the game.

Ambroz scored his first of the game on a rebound 17:45 into the game, and Minnesota led at the first intermission before the Huskies tied it up.

Chad Pietila took a pass up the center of the ice from Carl Nielsen then dodged a defender while keeping possession of the puck. He scored into the top left corner for his second goal of the weekend.

The tie score lasted for five minutes before the Gophers made a blue line-to-blue line pass to Erik Haula who scored on a wrister from atop the right circle.

Tech got a fortunate bounce to re-tie the game late in the second. Alex Petan's shot from the half wall was tipped by Ryan Furne into UM goalie Adam Wilcox. The puck caromed into the air and was deflected into the goal by Gopher forward Nick Bjugstad.

The teams skated through 16 minutes of the third without a goal despite several good chances for both squads.

Ambroz broke the deadlock at the 16:25 mark with his second goal of the game.

Just one minute later, Wilcox made a nice save on a wide open chance by Chad Pietila right in front of the net.

Tech pulled its goaltender Pheonix Copley for the extra attacker with 1:10 to play but could not get the equalizer.

"It was a physical game again tonight, and I thought it was a gutsy effort by our guys," said head coach Mel Pearson. "We played right with the No. 1 team, and sometimes it doesn't go your way.

"They scored on more of their opportunities than we did, and that was the difference."

Copley made 31 saves for the hosts while Wilcox tallied 16. Neither team scored a power-play goal on seven combined chances (five for Minnesota).

Michigan Tech will be back in action with another tough WCHA series next weekend in Denver. The Huskies and Pioneers will play at 9:37 p.m. ET Friday (Oct. 26) and 9:07 p.m ET on Saturday (Oct. 27).