No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 04
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 3 (if necessary)
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Minnesota Duluth Tops Tech 7-3 in WCHA Hockey

Minnesota Duluth Tops Tech 7-3 in WCHA Hockey

HOUGHTON, Mich. — For the second straight Friday game against Minnesota Duluth, Michigan Tech fell behind 4-0. Last year, the Huskies were able to grind out a 4-all tie. Tonight, Tech pulled within 4-3 but couldn't complete the comeback as the Bulldogs scored the final three goals in a 7-3 decision.

"You're not going to win games giving up seven goals," said head coach Mel Pearson. "They scored early and put us on our heels, but the goals we gave up were too easy."

UMD scored four times in the first 10 minutes of the game. Austin Farley had the first two at the 1:29 and 4:36 marks of the opening frame. Adam Krause added the third one shorthanded as Kevin Genoe mishandled a puck above the right faceoff dot.

Pheonix Copley replaced Genoe in net following the play, and the Bulldogs added their fourth goal 48 seconds later.

Tech got one back with less than two minutes left in the first as Tanner Kero collected a rebound and put it home. The goal came while the teams were skating four-on-four.

The momentum clearly shifted into the Huskies' favor in the second period. Tech had several grade A chances on a power play early in the frame but couldn't get one by UMD goalie Matt McNeely.

Sophomore Blake Hietala netted his first career goal to pull the hosts within 4-2 at the 13:13 mark of the second. McNeely tried to chip the puck away from the crease, but it landed on Hietala's stick who found the top right corner of the cage.

David Johnstone pulled the Black and Gold within 4-3 on a great individual effort early in the third period. He skated around a defenseman, got to the front of the net and put a shot on goal. The initial shot was saved, but Johnstone roofed the second chance for his second goal of the season.

Tech had chances to tie the game on a power play later in period, but UMD turned the tables with a power-play goal at the 11:04 mark. Another tally on the man advantage pushed the margin to 6-3. The visitors finished off scoring at the 14:15 mark of the final period.

"I liked the way we battled back," said Pearson. "We didn't give up. We worked hard and made a game of it."

Copley, who stopped 20-of-24 shots he faced, absorbed the loss. Genoe made eight saves on 11 shots.

McNeely finished with 27 saves on 30 Tech shots—10 in each period.

Minnesota Duluth (4-7-2, 2-5-2 WCHA) went 2-for-7 on the power play while the Huskies (4-7-0, 3-6-0) were 0-for-5.

The two teams will skate again at the MacInnes Student Ice Arena tomorrow.

Notes: The Huskies' four-goal comeback for a 4-4 overtime tie against Minnesota Duluth came Friday, Jan. 27, 2012. Tech won 5-0 the next night … Sophomore defenseman Jimmy Davis earned his second career point with an assist on Hietala's first career goal (first career point).