No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
2:37 PM
Michigan State
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Tue Jan 02
TBA
Michigan / Bowling Green
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Fri Jan 05
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Boston College
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Sat Jan 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Fri Jan 19
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
7:37 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
7:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
5:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Fall to UND 4-1 in Series Finale

Huskies Fall to UND 4-1 in Series Finale

HOUGHTON, Mich. — No. 8 North Dakota earned a 4-1 victory over Michigan Tech tonight by building an early lead and holding on. The game started with a flurry as each team put a goal on the board in the first two minutes. UND scored the eventual game winner at the 6:47 mark of the first before adding two more in the second.

Just 90 seconds into the game, Colten St. Clair dove and chipped the puck past Kevin Genoe. Connor Gaarder was whistled for an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty on the goal celebration, resulting in a Huskies' power play.

It took the hosts just 28 seconds to even the score. Ryan Furne slapped a shot from the point. It rebounded off UND goalie Clarke Saunders and Tech's Jujhar Khaira before David Johnstone stuffed it home. The marker was Johnstone's fourth of the season and the Huskies' first on the power play since Dec. 4 at Northern Michigan.

The teams skated hard through the rest of the period. North Dakota took a 2-1 lead at the 6:47 mark. The visitors won the faceoff, made one pass and scored high over Genoe's glove from the right circle.

North Dakota made it a 3-1 score six minutes into the second period as the teams were skating four-on-four. They added another 10 minutes later for a three-goal advantage.

Tech had a golden opportunity to climb back into the contest late in the second. UND was called for a penalty at the 17:58 mark. During the delayed call, C.J. Eick was tripped on a clean breakaway and awarded a penalty shot. Dennis Rix ended up taking the penalty shot (the first by a Tech player since 1997) and was stopped by Saunders.

The Huskies had 1:20 of power play before being called for too many men at 19:18, ending the threat.

The teams skated through the third period without any more scoring despite a combined 26 shots. North Dakota was 0-for-6 on the man advantage including five power plays in the final frame. Tech finished 1-for-5 on the power play.

"It was a tough game," said head coach Mel Pearson. "Give credit to North Dakota. They're a championship caliber team. Our guys worked hard, but we got a little away from our game in the third period when we were trying to make a comeback.

Genoe played all 60 minutes in net and made 40 saves. Saunders posted 31 stops for UND.

Michigan Tech will now have two weeks off before hosting the 48th annual Great Lakes Invitational at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit.

"The break comes at a good time for us," said Pearson. "We need to get healthy and spend some time away from the game and refocus."

The Huskies will face Michigan in the GLI semifinal Dec. 29 at 7 p.m.

Notes: Tech's last penalty shot was taken by Craig Perrett on Oct. 27, 1997, vs. Denver (he was stopped by Stephen Wagner) … Khaira and Furne had the two assists on the Huskies' goal, giving them 12 and 7 points on the season, respectively.