Sat Oct 01
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Sun Oct 02
5:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Oct 07
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 08
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota State
Fri Oct 14
7:07 PM
Alabama Huntsville
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 15
7:07 PM
Alabama Huntsville
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan
Sat Oct 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan
Fri Oct 28
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 29
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 04
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan State
Sat Nov 05
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan State
Fri Nov 11
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 12
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 18
11:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alaska Anchorage
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Ice Hockey

Three-Time NCAA Champions Six-Time WCHA Champions

Pietila, U.S. Win Gold at World Juniors

Pietila, U.S. Win Gold at World Juniors

UFA, Russia — Michigan Tech's Blake Pietila (Milford, Mich.) will bring a gold medal back from the International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championships. The sophomore forward helped Team USA defeat Sweden 3-1 in today's gold medal game.

Pietila appeared in all seven games for the U.S. in the tournament. He posted two assists and a plus-five plus-minus rating (tied for third best on the team). Pietila was also a big part of the American penalty kill, which was 89.3 percent successful (25-of-28).

The 2013 squad was the third U.S. team to win gold at the World Junior Championships (2004 and 2010 were the others).

Pietila is the first Michigan Tech player to earn any medal at the World Juniors. Ten other Huskies have played at the event—all for Team USA.