No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 04
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 3 (if necessary)
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

UMD Clips Tech 1-0 in WCHA Hockey

UMD Clips Tech 1-0 in WCHA Hockey

DULUTH, Minn. — The Michigan Tech hockey team was involved in its third straight shutout tonight. Unfortunately for the Huskies, it was Minnesota Duluth posting a 1-0 victory at Amsoil Arena.

Pheonix Copley made 41 saves, the most of a Tech goaltender this season. A first-period goal by UMD's Joe Basaraba held up as the game winner.

"You're going to have nights like tonight," said head coach Mel Pearson. "We needed to be around the net more and work a little harder.

"I didn't think our puck touches were very sharp all night, and that affected both ends of the ice."

Tech certainly had its chances to score. The Huskies had 5:13 of power play time including 22 seconds of 5-on-3 in the third period.

The Black and Gold hit two pipes in the final 20 minutes as well. David Johnstone rapped the left post while on the power play just 30 seconds into the third. Jacob Johnstone banked one off the inside of the right pipe later in the period, prompting the officials to review the play. It did not enter the net, and the Bulldogs remained on top 1-0.

Pearson pulled Copley for the extra attacker with 1:02 remaining, and the Huskies finished with a flurry. Matt McNeely made several big saves in the final moments to preserve the Bulldogs' shutout. He finished with 28 saves.

Copley, who was coming off back-to-back shutouts at the GLI, had his shutout streak come to an end at 143 minutes, 32 seconds. The freshman has stopped 111-of-112 shots in his last three games.

"Pheonix played really well and gave us a chance to win," said Pearson. "You can't win if you don't score goals. We've got to re-evaluate our play and get ready for tomorrow night."

The teams will wrap up their two-game weekend series and four-game season series tomorrow night at 8:07 p.m. ET (7:07 CT).

Notes: Tech is now 6-11-3 overall and 3-9-3 in WCHA play. UMD is 8-10-3, 6-6-3 … David Johnstone posted a team-high eight shots on goal in addition to hitting the post … Both teams were scoreless on three power play chances.