Fri Dec 09
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Dec 10
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Thu Dec 29
3:30 PM
Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Joe Louis Arena, Detroit 52nd Annual Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Dec 30
TBA
Michigan State/Western Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Joe Louis Arena, Detroit 52nd Annual Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Jan 06
7:35 PM
Michigan Tech
at Notre Dame
Sat Jan 07
7:05 PM
Michigan Tech
at Notre Dame
Fri Jan 13
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 14
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 20
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 27
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alabama Huntsville
Sat Jan 28
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alabama Huntsville
Fri Feb 03
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Sat Feb 04
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Fri Feb 10
7:07 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Ice Hockey

Three-Time NCAA Champions Eight-Time WCHA Champions

Tech Collects 1,000 Pounds of Food at Hockey Intrasquad Game

Tech Collects 1,000 Pounds of Food at Hockey Intrasquad Game

HOUGHTON, Mich. — Approximately 750 fans watched the Gold defeat the Black 6-3 and approximately 1,000 pounds of food were collected for local food banks as Michigan Tech hockey hosted an intrasquad game at Dee Stadium Saturday (Jan. 26) night.

Fans were asked to bring non-perishable food donations as their ticket for admission to Tech's second intrasquad game of the year (the first was at Calumet Colloseum Oct. 7).

The game featured two, 25-minute halves of running clock. After a 1-all first half, the Gold outscored the Black 5-2 in the second. Junior Ryan Furne (Gold) and sophomore Tanner Kero (Black) each had two goals in the contest.

Portage Health provided free refreshments for fans in the Dee Stadium Ballroom.

Following the game, fans were allowed on the ice to skate with the team. Kids were given posters to be autographed by Tech players. The GLI trophy, the MacInnes Cup, was also on the ice for fans to photograph.

The game was a tuneup for Tech's upcoming series at Nebraska Omaha this weekend (Feb. 1-2).

"This event was a great success," said head coach Mel Pearson. "Not only did we get a chance to simulate a game atmosphere, but it allowed us a chance to engage with the community. I know the players enjoyed spending time with the kids on the ice and playing in the place where Tech hockey has its roots."