No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 04
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 3 (if necessary)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Lickteig Scores Game Winner in 2-1 OT Win at Omaha

Lickteig Scores Game Winner in 2-1 OT Win at Omaha

OMAHA, Neb. — Senior Mikael Lickteig scored 2:56 into overtime to lift Michigan Tech to a 2-1 victory over No. 14 Nebraska-Omaha tonight at CenturyLink Center. The right winger's first goal of the season and second career goal gave the Huskies the series split.

"Good for Mikael," said head coach Mel Pearson. "We see his ability in practice and it's great for him to come out and do it in a game.

"I'm so proud of the team. We talked about going for the win in overtime, and I'm happy we were able to get that result."

The teams skated through a scoreless first period. UNO held a 12-4 advantage in shots on goal, but the play was much more even. Tech had several good scoring chances.

It took just 78 seconds for the Huskies to get on the board in the second. David Johnstone collected the puck at his defensive blue line and skated in on a 2-on-1 with Alex Petan. The defenseman stayed with Petan, allowing Johnstone a clear shot, which he buried in the upper corner on the short side for his eighth of the season.

Tech had an extended power play following a major penalty to UNO's Alex Simonson for contact to the head on Carl Nielsen. Nearly four minutes into the man advantage, Justin Fillion was called for hooking trying to stop a Mavericks shorthanded chance. That gave the hosts a power play. Neither team scored with the advantage.

UNO (16-10-2, 12-6-2 WCHA) knotted the game up on a breakaway play from Josh Archibald at the 17:34 mark of the frame.

The team skated into the third period tied at 1. The Mavericks, who had 37 seconds of power play to start the period, rang the post in the opening moments. Blake Pietila was stopped on a breakaway seconds later. The teams continued a great back-and-forth period, but the score remained 1-all heading to overtime.

Tech held a territorial advantage in the extra session and got the game winner as Lickteig skated down the left wing and fired a rocket past John Faulkner from atop the left circle.

Neither team scored a power-play goal in the contest. Tech was 0-for-3 and UNO was 0-for-1. The Mavericks held a 37-28 advantage in shots on goal.

Pheonix Copley made 36 saves on 37 UNO shots on goal. Faulkner finished with 26 saves.

Michigan Tech improved to 8-13-4 overall and 5-11-4 in WCHA play. The Huskies will return home for their next three games beginning with a Winter Carnival series against Alaska Anchorage next weekend (Feb. 8-9).

Notes: David Johnstone extended his point streak to five games with a goal tonight … Riley Sweeney was credited with an assist on both Tech goals and ran his season point total to 0-7=7 … Jacob Johnstone was also credited with an assist on the game winner.