No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
2:37 PM
Michigan State
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Tue Jan 02
TBA
Michigan / Bowling Green
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Fri Jan 05
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Boston College
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Sat Jan 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Fri Jan 19
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
7:37 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
7:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
5:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

No. 9 Mavericks Top Huskies 4-2 in Hockey

No. 9 Mavericks Top Huskies 4-2 in Hockey

MANKATO, Minn. — No. 9-ranked Minnesota State defeated Michigan Tech 4-2 at Verizon Wireless Center tonight in WCHA hockey. The Huskies' Alex Petan scored his 12th and 13th goals of the season, but it was not enough to lift the Black and Gold to a third straight win.

Playing on the large ice sheet for just the fourth time this season, Tech had a hard time generating offensive chances. The Mavericks put up a 36-22 advantage in shots on goal.

"We couldn't quite get in sync," said head coach Mel Pearson. "Give them credit. Their speed and quickness gave us problems on the big sheet. They played a more tenacious game tonight."

For the fifth consecutive game, Tech got on the board first. MSU's Max Gaede was called for a five-minute major for boarding on Daniel Sova. On the ensuing power play, Petan fired a shot through MSU netminder Stephon Williams at the 4:35 mark. Jujhar Khaira and Ryan Furne had assists on the play.

The hosts answered later in the frame with a power-play goal of their own. Dylan Margonari walked in from the blue line and put one past Pheonix Copley.

The Mavericks found the back of the net again in the first 70 seconds of the second period as Eriah Hayes collected a loose puck in the offensive zone and tucked it inside the left post.

Petan knotted the game back up at 2-all with his second power-play goal of the game. The sophomore banked a shot from below the left faceoff dot off Williams and into the net. David Johnstone and Steven Seigo picked up assists on the play.

MSU regained the lead for good when Johnny McInnis scored on a slap shot at the 13:38 mark of the second period.

Tech killed off a 5-on-3 to start the third, but surrendered another goal at the 3:31 mark as Matt Leitner slid the puck around Copley.

The hosts kept the pressure on Copley the entire third period and posted a 16-7 advantage in the frame.

The Huskies finished 2-for-6 on the power play compared to the Mavericks' 1-for-3 mark on the man advantage. Copley, who started his 12th consecutive game, made 32 saves. Williams had 20 stops.

The two teams will skate again tomorrow to wrap up their two-game series. Faceoff is set for 8:07 p.m. ET.

Notes: Petan extended his team point lead to 28 on 13 goals and 15 assists … Sova returned to play later in the first period, but did not finish the game … Tech fell to 10-3-1 when scoring the game's first goal.