No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
2:37 PM
Michigan State
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Tue Jan 02
TBA
Michigan / Bowling Green
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Fri Jan 05
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Boston College
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Sat Jan 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Fri Jan 19
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
7:37 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
7:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
5:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Minnesota State Beats Tech 6-1 Saturday

Minnesota State Beats Tech 6-1 Saturday

MANKATO, Minn. — No. 9 Minnesota State completed the sweep of Michigan Tech with a 6-1 victory tonight at Verizon Wireless Center. The Huskies, who held a 38-28 advantage in shots on goal and seemed to also have the edge in quality scoring chances, deserved a better fate but didn't get the bounces.

"It was one of those nights," said head coach Mel Pearson. "Pucks went into our net too easily. It was a similar situation to the game we had with Northern (Michigan) on Tuesday when it went in easy for us.

"I can't fault the effort from our team tonight. That's all I can ask for as a coach."

The game's key action came in the second period. Blake Pietila rang a shot off the post in the first minute in an attempt to tie the game. Minutes later, Tommy Brown was called for tripping. On the penalty kill, Blake Pietila was hauled down on a breakaway and drew a penalty shot. Pietila was injured on the play as he went crashing into the net and end wall.

He left the bench for treatment, but returned to the ice to take the penalty shot, which he put off the post again.

Michigan Tech earned its first power play of the game 9:13 into the second period. It was Minnesota State scoring next, however. Zach Lehrke beat Copley shorthanded after a nice feed from Brett Knowles for a 2-0 advantage.

Pietila skated a shift or two after the penalty shot, but did not play the remainder of the game.

The Huskies continued to apply pressure, but had nothing to show for it. MSU added goals at the 16:58 and 19:04 marks of the period to enter the second intermission with a 4-0 advantage.

"I thought it one of Blake's two posts went in it was going to be a whole different game, but it didn't happen," said Pearson. "You have to play solid defense on those nights when the puck doesn't go in."

Jamie Phillips replaced Copley in net to start the third period and surrendered the fifth goal to Knowles.

C.J. Eick broke up Stephon Williams' shutout with 5:54 remaining as he took a stretch pass from Carl Nielsen and buried a shot inside the left post for his second career goal.

MSU finished off scoring with its second power-play goal of the night at 17:48.

Michigan Tech concluded the game with a 19-5 advantage in shots on goal in the third period.

Williams made 37 saves his 17th win of the season. Copley (19 saves) and Phillips (3) combined for 22 saves.

Tech went 0-for-2 on the power play compared to 2-for-4 for the hosts.

Michigan Tech will have its final bye weekend of the season coming up before returning to action at St. Cloud State Mar. 1-2.

Notes: Pietila's penalty shot was the second by a Tech player this season. Dennis Rix attempted one Dec. 15 vs. North Dakota and was stopped … Tommy Brown replaced Daniel Sova in the lineup tonight after Sova was injured in the first period Friday.