Fri Dec 09
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Dec 10
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Thu Dec 29
3:30 PM
Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Joe Louis Arena, Detroit 52nd Annual Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Dec 30
TBA
Michigan State/Western Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Joe Louis Arena, Detroit 52nd Annual Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Jan 06
7:35 PM
Michigan Tech
at Notre Dame
Sat Jan 07
7:05 PM
Michigan Tech
at Notre Dame
Fri Jan 13
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 14
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 20
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 27
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alabama Huntsville
Sat Jan 28
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alabama Huntsville
Fri Feb 03
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Sat Feb 04
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Fri Feb 10
7:07 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Ice Hockey

Three-Time NCAA Champions Eight-Time WCHA Champions

Petan Named WCHA Co-Rookie of the Week

Petan Named WCHA Co-Rookie of the Week

MADISON, Wis. – A pair of forwards who made strong contributions to their respective teams last weekend, Michigan Tech's Alex Petan and Bemidji State's Cory Ward, have been named Red Baron® WCHA Men's co-Rookies of the Week for March 5.

Petan, a 5-8, 155-pound right winger from Delta, B.C., scored three points and was +2 in Tech's series split at league-leading St. Cloud State last weekend. All three points came in the Huskies' 5-1 win over SCSU last Saturday (March 2). The freshman had an assist on each of the team's first two goals – both coming in the first four minutes of the game. He then iced the win with a goal in the third period. Petan was +3 on Saturday with three shots on goal and also had three shots on net and went 4-1 on faceoffs in a 5-3 loss Friday. Petan, with 14-17=31 in 32 games this year, is tied for the league point lead among rookies.

Ward, a 5-10, 194-pound freshman center from Las Vegas, Nevada, led the attack in the Beavers' WCHA series at No. 6 North Dakota on March 1-2. He had a hand in three of BSU's four goals on the weekend, helping the Beavers earn a point in the road series. Ward finished the weekend with a +1 plus-minus rating. Ward leads all BSU rookies and is fifth on the team with 12 points (6g, 6a).

Petan's honor is the fifth WCHA Player of the Week for Michigan Tech this season. Pheonix Copley was named Rookie of the Week Oct. 22 and Jan. 22 and Defensive Player of the Week Jan. 3. Jujhar Khaira was named Rookie of the Week Nov. 20.