No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 04
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 3 (if necessary)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

North Dakota Ends Tech's Hockey Season in Playoff Game 3

North Dakota Ends Tech's Hockey Season in Playoff Game 3

GRAND FORKS, N.D. — No. 4-ranked North Dakota scored one goal in the first period, four in the second and one more in the third to beat Michigan Tech 6-0 tonight and earn a best-of-three WCHA Playoff series win two games to one. The hosts came out firing early and got some bounces along the way to advance to the WCHA Final Five. Tech's season ends with a 13-20-4 record.

"Credit North Dakota. They were more ready to play tonight," said head coach Mel Pearson. "Three games in three days is tough, especially with a young team. They've got an experienced group of seniors that carried them.

"I'm really proud of our guys. We've done a lot of good things this year. We're growing and going in the right direction. It's hard to look at things like that on a night like tonight, but there are definitely positives to take away."

UND peppered Pheonix Copley with 18 shots in the opening period, but the Huskies' netminder surrendered only one goal in the frame. That came on a slapshot from Dillon Simpson at the 12:13 mark.

Corban Knight made it 2-0 on a breakaway as he beat Copley 4:45 into the second period. UND scored again at the 9:24 and 13:54 marks to go up 4-0 before the Huskies drew back-to-back penalties.

Tech had 1:32 of 5-on-3 power play but couldn't solve Clarke Saunders. Emblematic of the Huskies' night, UND got a perfect bounce at the perfect time for their fifth goal. As the first penalty was expiring, Steven Seigo's shot caromed off a UND player to center ice where Colten St. Clair came out of the penalty box and skated in alone on Copley.

Michigan Tech held a 15-14 advantage in shots in the second period with nothing to show for it. The Huskies continued to skate hard in the third period, putting eight shots on net.

UND closed out scoring with 3:15 left on a Brendan O'Donnell goal.

North Dakota (21-11-7) held a 44-28 advantage in shots on goal. Neither team scored on the power play. Tech was 0-for-3 while UND was 0-for-1.

Tech came one win shy of its second consecutive WCHA Final Five appearance.

The Huskies will say goodbye to seven seniors on the squad: defenseman Tommy Brown, goaltender Kevin Genoe, forward Mikael Lickteig, defenseman Carl Nielsen, forward Aaron Pietila, forward Chad Pietila and defenseman Steven Seigo.

"One thing to look at with a group of seniors is if they left the program in a better place than when you came," said Pearson. "Without a doubt this group has done that. They did a lot of good things this season and in their careers."

Michigan Tech has concluded its 92nd season of hockey.