No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 04
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 3 (if necessary)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Edged in Opener at Duluth 2-1

Huskies Edged in Opener at Duluth 2-1

DULUTH, Minn. — A late third-period goal lifted Minnesota Duluth to a 2-1 non-conference victory over Michigan Tech tonight at Amsoil Arena. Goaltender Pheonix Copley made 39 saves in a strong effort between the pipes but had one get behind him with 2:46 to play that stood up as the game winner.

A crowd of 5,787 took in the regular season opener for both teams and were treated to a fast, physical game. Both netminders, Copley and UMD's Matt McNeely, stopped several grade A scoring chances in the contest.

The opening frame featured three penalties for each team but no goals. Each side had a 5-on-3 power play in the stanza.

Tony Cameranesi broke through for the hosts 4:55 into the second period. The Bulldogs out-shot the Huskies 16-5 in the period but Copley stopped 15 of those to keep the Huskies in the game.

In the third period, Tech was whistled for back-to-back penalties for the second time in the contest leading to another 5-on-3. Freshman defenseman Chris Leibinger, who had the first of the two penalties, came out of the box and jumped up on a rush. Tanner Kero fed a pass across to Leibinger who poked it into the net one-handed for his first career goal. Riley Sweeney also drew an assist on the shorthanded goal.

The score remained 1-all down the stretch even though Leibinger and David Johnstone both had opportunities to score shortly after the Huskies equalizer.

Justin Crandall scored the game winner with a shot from the goal line extended on the right side. The puck squeezed through Copley and trickled over the goal line.

Tech put the extra attacker on the ice for the final 90 seconds, but could not tie the score.

The final shot total was 41-16 in favor of UMD. McNeely stopped 15 to earn the win for the Bulldogs.

"I was a spirited team effort," said head coach Mel Pearson. "I liked our energy and effort, but we can play better. You need to finish your chances when you get them, especially on the road.

"I'm sure he'd like to have the second goal back, but I though Pheonix did a really nice job in net. We just need to work harder at eliminating the scoring chances against."

The teams will wrap up the two-game series tomorrow night at 8:07 p.m. (ET).