No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
Final
2 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
Final
5 Michigan Tech
3 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Fri Mar 09
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 11
Final - OT
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 3
Sat Mar 17
Final
2 Michigan Tech
0 at Northern Michigan
WCHA Championship Game
Fri Mar 23
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Notre Dame
@ Bridgeport, CT NCAA Tournament - East Region Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Huskies Fall to Irish 7-3 in Series Finale

Huskies Fall to Irish 7-3 in Series Finale

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — With a combined 32 penalties for 113 minutes, today's Michigan Tech-Notre Dame non-conference game had more of a special teams flavor than even Friday's (Oct. 18) affair. The host Fighting Irish came away with a 7-3 victory at Compton Family Ice Arena.

The Irish scored four of their seven goals on the man advantage including a pair during a major in the second frame. Those two broke open a game that stood at 2-all following a strong period up to that point for the Huskies.

Trailing 1-0 after the first 20 minutes, UND's Shayne Taker threaded a shot through traffic from the left point for a 2-0 lead. Immediately, the Huskies responded. Tyler Heinonen scored his first career goal on a wrist shot inside the left post at the 2:12 mark of the second. Blake Hietala and Chris Leibinger drew assists.

Little more than a minute later, Blake Pietila fed a pass across the front of the goal to Alex Petan, who buried it. Petan's first goal of the season tied the score at 2-all.

Tech, which was called for 10 penalties in the first period, had just two in the second as Mike Neville received a major for hitting from behind and a game misconduct at the 10:28 mark.

Notre Dame scored two goals on the ensuing major within 18 seconds of each other to grab a 4-2 advantage. The hosts added a fifth goal during 4-on-4 play with 12:57 gone in the stanza.

Into the third period, UND made it 6-2 before Heinonen and Hietala teamed up again—Heinonen chipping a puck past Steven Summerhayes on well-placed pass from Hietala at 15:34.

Petan was called for a major for contact to the head elbowing with 2:50 to play. Notre Dame scored their final goal during the extended power play for the 7-3 final.

"I was really disappointed in the refereeing today," said head coach Mel Pearson. "I feel bad for the players, the fans, everyone.

"We had a lot of guys play well, and I thought we were the better team when it was five-on-five and we'd tied the score. But when your top guys are killing penalties all night, it's tough to get anything going offensively."

Tech was called for 18 penalties for 85 minutes in the contest while UND served 28 minutes on 14 calls.

Jamie Phillips got the start in goal and played all 60 minutes. He made 26 saves on 33 UND shots. Summerhayes had 22 saves of 25 Huskies shots.

Michigan Tech, now 0-3-1, will begin WCHA play on Friday (Oct. 25) with the first of a home-and-home series against Northern Michigan. The teams square off in Marquette before playing in Houghton Saturday (Oct. 26).