No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 04
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 3 (if necessary)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Sweep Spartans with Petan's OT Goal

HOUGHTON, Mich. — Alex Petan scored 3:52 into overtime to give Michigan Tech a 3-2 victory tonight and the series sweep over Michigan State at the John MacInnes Student Ice Arena. The sophomore shot home a rebound from the slot to bag the game winner. The Huskies improved to 3-0 at home with the victory.

Blake Pietila fired a shot from the left goal line extended that bounced out front of MSU netminder Will Yanakeff. Petan got enough on his rebound effort to get it to carom off Yanakeff into the net.

"Our plan in overtime is to get it deep and throw pucks on net," said Petan, who assumed the team point lead with a four-point weekend. "Blake shot it and it ping-ponged to me. I just threw it toward the net, and it maybe got under his arm. I'm not sure, I'm just happy it went in."

The score not only whipped the crowd of 3,370 into a frenzy, it perhaps proves that the bounce of the puck does even out.

"It was a good performance by our team tonight," said head coach Mel Pearson. "We maybe got a couple bounces that we didn't get in other games.

"My hats off to our crowd and especially our student section. We really feed off that energy. And what a great way to send them home with an overtime win."

Tech held a pair of one-goal leads in the game but Michigan State fought back each time.

Rookie Brent Baltus staked the hosts to a 1-0 lead just 3:00 into the contest, scoring on a rebound from a Cliff Watson shot from the left point.

The Spartans answered 57 seconds into the second frame. A wrap-around attempt was stopped by Pheonix Copley, but David Bondra managed to chip the rebound high into the net. The tally broke Copley's nearly 81 minutes of shutout against MSU.

The game appeared to be going tied into the third period, but a late penalty by the Spartans led to a Huskies' goal. Pietila waited patiently behind the net with the clock winding down before feeding a pass to Tanner Kero at the side of the net. Kero buried his second goal of the weekend through the legs of Yanakeff for a 2-1 lead after 40 minutes.

MSU scored another early-period goal when Lee Reimer redirected a shot past Copley. The power-play marker at 4:00 was the first and only in six MSU man advantages on the weekend (three tonight).

Both teams had chances in the remainder of the stanza but neither could get the go-ahead.

Petan's marker came on assists from line mates Pietila and Kero. The trio accounted for six points tonight and a dozen on the weekend.

"That line played well for us," said Pearson. "We need them to continue that if we're going to be successful."

Copley finished off a two-win weekend with 17 saves on 19 shots. Yanakeff turned away 35 of the Huskies' 38 shots on net.

Michigan Tech, with a 3-6-1 overall record and 1-1-0 WCHA slate, will remain at home for a pair of league games next weekend. Lake Superior State comes to Houghton for tilts Friday and Saturday (Nov. 15-16) at 7:07 p.m. both nights.