Sat Oct 01
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Sun Oct 02
5:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Oct 07
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 08
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota State
Fri Oct 14
7:07 PM
Alabama Huntsville
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 15
7:07 PM
Alabama Huntsville
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan
Sat Oct 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan
Fri Oct 28
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 29
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 04
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan State
Sat Nov 05
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan State
Fri Nov 11
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 12
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 18
11:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alaska Anchorage
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Ice Hockey

Three-Time NCAA Champions Eight-Time WCHA Champions

Petan Named WCHA Offensive Player of the Week

Petan Named WCHA Offensive Player of the Week

MADISON, Wis. — Sophomore forward Alex Petan, who had three points, including a game-winning goal in overtime, to help host Michigan Tech sweep Big 10 Conference-member Michigan State last weekend, is the WCHA Men's Offensive Player of the Week for Nov. 12, 2013.

A 5-8, 155-pound right winger from Delta, B.C., Petan scored a pair of goals and had one assist, put five shots on goal, and earned a +4 plus/minus rating as the Huskies shut out the visiting Spartans 3-0 last Friday (Nov. 8) and then won 3-2 in overtime last Saturday (Nov. 9). This was the first series between Tech and MSU in Houghton since 1984.

Petan, who was part of a line that produced 11 points in the series and included Tanner Kero at center and Blake Pietila at left wing, iced the first game against Michigan State for the Huskies with a third period tally at 15:20. Then in game two, Petan first set up a go-ahead second period goal for the Huskies before scoring the game-winner with just 1:08 left in the extra session.

Petan, who led Michigan Tech in points a year ago, is tied for the team lead in points this season with 4-2=6 in 10 games. He also has 40 points (19g, 21a) in 47 collegiate games.