Fri Dec 09
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Dec 10
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Thu Dec 29
3:30 PM
Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Joe Louis Arena, Detroit 52nd Annual Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Dec 30
TBA
Michigan State/Western Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Joe Louis Arena, Detroit 52nd Annual Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Jan 06
7:35 PM
Michigan Tech
at Notre Dame
Sat Jan 07
7:05 PM
Michigan Tech
at Notre Dame
Fri Jan 13
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 14
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 20
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 27
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alabama Huntsville
Sat Jan 28
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alabama Huntsville
Fri Feb 03
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Sat Feb 04
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Fri Feb 10
7:07 PM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Ice Hockey

Three-Time NCAA Champions Eight-Time WCHA Champions

No. 3 Bulldogs Nip Huskies 1-0

BIG RAPIDS, Mich. — Tonight's WCHA game featured the top two defensive teams in the league, and it played out that way on the ice. No. 3-ranked Ferris State scored 8:25 into the third period and held off a pressing Michigan Tech squad in earning a 1-0 victory.

The host Bulldogs (16-3-3, 11-0-2 WCHA) posted a 29-25 advantage in shots on goal and killed off three Tech power plays—two in the third period including one in the final four minutes.

The lone goal came on a one-timer from the center of the blue line. Garrett Thompson took the shot which hit a Husky stick in front of goaltender Jamie Phillips and deflected into the net.

"Once again, I can't fault our team's effort tonight," said Tech coach Mel Pearson. "We did everything we needed to do defensively to give ourselves a chance, but we're really challenged offensively right now."

Michigan Tech (7-12-6, 5-6-4 WCHA) put nine shots on goal in the first period and eight in the second and third each.

David Johnstone had a team-high five shots including a grade A chance in tight on FSU netminder C.J. Motte in the second period. Reid Sturos set up Ryan Furne in the slot in the third, but Furne couldn't get full wood on a rolling puck. Shane Hanna also had a scoring chance from the point that Motte just got a piece of.

Phillips posted 28 saves in his second consecutive start. He's only surrendered four goals in eight periods of play starting with the second period of last Friday's (Jan. 3) contest at Lake Superior State.

"I liked Jamie's game tonight," said Pearson. "He didn't give up anything, and you can't fault him on the one goal. He played well."

Michigan Tech has now completed 12 consecutive games (3-4-5 record) that were decided by one goal or tied.

The Huskies and Bulldogs will square off again tomorrow night at Ewigleben Ice Arena. Faceoff is set for 7:07 p.m.