Sat Oct 01
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Sun Oct 02
5:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Oct 07
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 08
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota State
Fri Oct 14
7:07 PM
Alabama Huntsville
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 15
7:07 PM
Alabama Huntsville
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan
Sat Oct 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan
Fri Oct 28
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 29
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 04
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan State
Sat Nov 05
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan State
Fri Nov 11
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 12
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 18
11:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alaska Anchorage
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Ice Hockey

Three-Time NCAA Champions Six-Time WCHA Champions

No. 3 Bulldogs Nip Huskies 1-0

BIG RAPIDS, Mich. — Tonight's WCHA game featured the top two defensive teams in the league, and it played out that way on the ice. No. 3-ranked Ferris State scored 8:25 into the third period and held off a pressing Michigan Tech squad in earning a 1-0 victory.

The host Bulldogs (16-3-3, 11-0-2 WCHA) posted a 29-25 advantage in shots on goal and killed off three Tech power plays—two in the third period including one in the final four minutes.

The lone goal came on a one-timer from the center of the blue line. Garrett Thompson took the shot which hit a Husky stick in front of goaltender Jamie Phillips and deflected into the net.

"Once again, I can't fault our team's effort tonight," said Tech coach Mel Pearson. "We did everything we needed to do defensively to give ourselves a chance, but we're really challenged offensively right now."

Michigan Tech (7-12-6, 5-6-4 WCHA) put nine shots on goal in the first period and eight in the second and third each.

David Johnstone had a team-high five shots including a grade A chance in tight on FSU netminder C.J. Motte in the second period. Reid Sturos set up Ryan Furne in the slot in the third, but Furne couldn't get full wood on a rolling puck. Shane Hanna also had a scoring chance from the point that Motte just got a piece of.

Phillips posted 28 saves in his second consecutive start. He's only surrendered four goals in eight periods of play starting with the second period of last Friday's (Jan. 3) contest at Lake Superior State.

"I liked Jamie's game tonight," said Pearson. "He didn't give up anything, and you can't fault him on the one goal. He played well."

Michigan Tech has now completed 12 consecutive games (3-4-5 record) that were decided by one goal or tied.

The Huskies and Bulldogs will square off again tomorrow night at Ewigleben Ice Arena. Faceoff is set for 7:07 p.m.