No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
Final
2 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
Final
5 Michigan Tech
3 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Fri Mar 09
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 11
Final - OT
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 3
Sat Mar 17
Final
2 Michigan Tech
0 at Northern Michigan
WCHA Championship Game
Fri Mar 23
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Notre Dame
@ Bridgeport, CT NCAA Tournament - East Region Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Huskies Fall at Ferris 3-2 Despite 46-20 Shot Advantage

BIG RAPIDS, Mich. — Michigan Tech outplayed No. 3 Ferris State on both ends of the ice for most of the game yet came away with a 3-2 loss tonight in WCHA play. Bulldogs' netminder C.J. Motte totaled 44 saves, and the Huskies had a goal disallowed in losing their second straight one-goal setback to FSU.

Shots on goal favored Michigan Tech 46-20.

"What can you say? You can't ask for any more from a hockey team than to come into the building of the No. 3 team in the country and play like we did," said coach Mel Pearson. "It was a spirited effort by our guys, and I don't think I've been more proud of a team than this one in my 30-some years of coaching."

Despite Tech jumping out with a seven of the first nine shots on goal in the game, it was Ferris getting on the board first.

T.J. Schlueter was the recipient of a bounce off a skate to him at the front of the net, where he beat Jamie Phillips.

Tech appeared to have tied the game nine minutes into the second period. Blake Hietala centered a pass to the front of the net, where Motte made an initial save. Brent Baltus poked a loose puck under Motte into the net, but the official skated in with his arms up. After a review, the goal was not allowed because of a premature whistle by the referee.

Instead of a 1-1 game, FSU made it 2-0 with a shorthanded tally. Kenny Babinski and Chad McDonald worked a two-on-one breakaway to score with 4:59 left in the second.

Less than 90 seconds later, Alex Petan officially broke up the shutout. The sophomore put a wrist shot past Motte while on a 5-on-3 power play. Shane Hanna made the cross-ice feed to Petan, and Ryan Furne also picked up an assist.

Tech finished with 21 shots on goal in the second period alone, but went into the intermission trailing 2-1.

FSU's Justin Buzzeo gave his team another two-goal lead with 3:29 left when he poked a loose puck past Phillips in the third.

Pearson elected to put out the extra attacker with 2:41 left, and it eventually paid off. David Johnstone fired a shot from a sharp angle on the left goal line past Motte with 54 seconds remaining.

The Black and Gold couldn't get the equalizer despite more time with the extra skater in the Bulldogs zone in the final moments.

Motte stopped 14 shots in the first, 20 in the second and 10 more in the third to improve to 17-1-3 on the season. Phillips posted 17 saves in his third consecutive start for the Huskies.

Tech has now played in 13 consecutive games decided with a tie or one-goal.

"Motte was the difference in the game," said Pearson. "We have to persevere, hang in there and stick together.

"I like this team. We're playing well right now. It's going to be a good series when they come to our place in two weeks."

Michigan Tech (7-13-6, 5-7-4 WCHA), which has a bye week in its schedule Jan. 17-18, will host Ferris State (17-3-3, 12-0-2 WCHA) in its next games Jan. 24-25.