Sat Oct 01
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Sun Oct 02
5:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota Duluth
Fri Oct 07
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 08
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Minnesota State
Fri Oct 14
7:07 PM
Alabama Huntsville
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 15
7:07 PM
Alabama Huntsville
Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan
Sat Oct 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan
Fri Oct 28
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 29
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 04
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan State
Sat Nov 05
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Michigan State
Fri Nov 11
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 12
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 18
11:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alaska Anchorage
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Ice Hockey

Three-Time NCAA Champions Six-Time WCHA Champions

Copley Signs Contract with NHL's Capitals

Copley Signs Contract with NHL's Capitals

HOUGHTON, Mich. — Pheonix Copley, goaltender for the Michigan Tech hockey team, will forego his final two seasons of eligibility it was announced today by Huskies' coach Mel Pearson. The North Pole, Alaska, native has signed a contract with the NHL's Washington Capitals.

Copley finished his sophomore season with a 10-13-6 record, a 2.51 goals against average and a .911 save percentage. He was twice named WCHA Defensive Player of the Week. For his two-year career, Copley appeared in 54 games with 18 wins and four shutouts.

"I'd like to thank Pheonix for his time with our team," said Pearson. "We wish him the best as he follows his dreams of playing in the National Hockey League.

"As we recruit top-end players, we'll be faced with losing some of them early as was the case last year with Jujhar (Khaira, who signed with the Edmonton Oilers). We look forward to watching their success as their careers progress."

Copley, who was a free agent, received a two-year, entry-level contract beginning with the 2014-15 season. He will join the American Hockey League's Hershey Bears on a tryout agreement this spring.

"It's a dream come true," said Copley. "Without Coach Pearson and the staff here believing in me and giving me the opportunity here, I would not be where I am now. I want to thank them and my teammates for helping put me in this position.

"My experience at Michigan Tech has been great. The support from the fans and community has been something I'll never forget."

Michigan Tech recently finished its 2013-14 season with a 14-19-7 record and fifth-place finish in the WCHA.

Washington Capitals Release