Sat Dec 03
7:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Fri Dec 09
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Dec 10
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Thu Dec 29
3:30 PM
Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Joe Louis Arena, Detroit 52nd Annual Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Dec 30
TBA
Michigan State/Western Michigan
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Joe Louis Arena, Detroit 52nd Annual Great Lakes Invitational
Fri Jan 06
7:35 PM
Michigan Tech
at Notre Dame
Sat Jan 07
7:05 PM
Michigan Tech
at Notre Dame
Fri Jan 13
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 14
7:07 PM
Alaska Anchorage
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 20
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 21
7:07 PM
Minnesota State
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 27
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alabama Huntsville
Sat Jan 28
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Alabama Huntsville
Fri Feb 03
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Sat Feb 04
8:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Ice Hockey

Three-Time NCAA Champions Eight-Time WCHA Champions

Copley Signs Contract with NHL's Capitals

Copley Signs Contract with NHL's Capitals

HOUGHTON, Mich. — Pheonix Copley, goaltender for the Michigan Tech hockey team, will forego his final two seasons of eligibility it was announced today by Huskies' coach Mel Pearson. The North Pole, Alaska, native has signed a contract with the NHL's Washington Capitals.

Copley finished his sophomore season with a 10-13-6 record, a 2.51 goals against average and a .911 save percentage. He was twice named WCHA Defensive Player of the Week. For his two-year career, Copley appeared in 54 games with 18 wins and four shutouts.

"I'd like to thank Pheonix for his time with our team," said Pearson. "We wish him the best as he follows his dreams of playing in the National Hockey League.

"As we recruit top-end players, we'll be faced with losing some of them early as was the case last year with Jujhar (Khaira, who signed with the Edmonton Oilers). We look forward to watching their success as their careers progress."

Copley, who was a free agent, received a two-year, entry-level contract beginning with the 2014-15 season. He will join the American Hockey League's Hershey Bears on a tryout agreement this spring.

"It's a dream come true," said Copley. "Without Coach Pearson and the staff here believing in me and giving me the opportunity here, I would not be where I am now. I want to thank them and my teammates for helping put me in this position.

"My experience at Michigan Tech has been great. The support from the fans and community has been something I'll never forget."

Michigan Tech recently finished its 2013-14 season with a 14-19-7 record and fifth-place finish in the WCHA.

Washington Capitals Release