No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
Final
2 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
Final
5 Michigan Tech
3 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Fri Mar 09
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 11
Final - OT
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 3
Sat Mar 17
Final
2 Michigan Tech
0 at Northern Michigan
WCHA Championship Game
Fri Mar 23
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Notre Dame
@ Bridgeport, CT NCAA Tournament - East Region Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Huskies Score Five; Sweep LSSU Sunday

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. – The Michigan Tech hockey team earned a WCHA series sweep with a 5-1 win over Laker Superior State on Sunday (Oct. 5) at Taffy Abel Arena. For the second night in a row, the Huskies fell behind in the first period and came back for the win.

After giving up a first-period goal, the Black and Gold scored five unanswered, including a four-goal explosion in the second.

Tech pounded 26 shots on the Lakers in the second, and it was Blake Hietala who finally broke through 8:02 into the period. Mike Neville took the draw and chipped the puck over to Hietala who shoveled the puck under Gordie Defial. For Hietala, it was his first of the season and first of two in the game.

Blake Pietila gave the Huskies a 2-1 lead as he ripped a one-timer from inside the circle to the left of Defiel 4:11 later. His line mates set him up as David Johnstone threaded a cross-ice, backhanded pass to the captain. Reid Sturos picked up the secondary helper.

Only 14 seconds later, freshman Dylan Steman tipped in a Cliff Watson blast from the blue line for the first goal of his career. Joel L'Esperance also recorded his first point as a Husky with an assist on the play.

Less than six minutes later (18:09), Johnstone got into the action, scoring his first of the season and 15th power play goal of his career. Pietila dug the puck out of the corner and passed out to Alex Petan at the blue line. Petan slipped it across to Hanna who found Johnstone for a one-timer into the back of the net.

Jamie Phillips stood tall in the third period stopping nine shots, including a pair of beautiful saves six and a half minutes in.

Hietala made it a four-goal margin as buried his second of the game with just 22 seconds left in the third. Malcolm Gould carried the puck across the line on a three on one and fed it to Hietala who was waiting just outside the crease. Steman picked up his second point of the contest with an assist.

"Overall I'm really happy with the weekend, "Tech coach Mel Pearson said. "We had a lot of guys play well, and it was good to get some secondary scoring.

"We're going to be able to score goals with the depth we have, but we're going to have to play better defensively."

The Huskies came out with a lot of energy in the first period, outshooting the Lakers 11-6. Johnstone and Sturos both had early chances that were stopped by Gordie Defiel.

Alex Globke had a breakaway that was turned away by Jamie Phillips.

The Huskies killed off 15 seconds of five on three, but with five and a half seconds left in the first period and LSSU still on the man advantage, Ian Miller scored over the glove of Phillips to give the Lakers the 1-0 lead.

The Huskies outshot the Lakers 41-22 in the game. Phillips won his eighth career game with 21 saves.

"Jamie made key saves at the right time again, like last night," added Pearson. "Their power play at the start of the third was important and he had some big stops."

Defiel started between the pipes for LSSU, allowing four goals and stopping 33 shots. Kevin Aldridge relieved Defiel in the third and made three saves.

The two teams combined for 16 penalties. Each team had a power play goal.

"We got a couple weeks off before going into a hornets nest at Ferris," said Pearson. "They're one of the top two teams in our league, and we have to do everything we can to be ready for that series."

Tech travels to Ferris State on Oct. 24-25.

The Huskies are playing an intrasquad game at the John MacInnes Student Ice Arena on Saturday (Oct. 11) at 6 p.m. Admission is a donation to local youth hockey, and fans are encouraged to bring along their skates to skate with the Huskies afterward.

GAME NOTES: Nine different Huskies scored on the weekend … Mark Auk and Joel L'Esperance played their first game in a Husky uniform … It was the only regular season game in college hockey on Sunday … The last time Tech scored 10 goals in a road series was Jan. 31-Feb. 1, 2014 at Bowling Green State … Tech had two WCHA road series sweeps in 2013-14.