No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
1st - 13:37
1 Lake Superior State
0 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
2:37 PM
Michigan State
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Tue Jan 02
TBA
Michigan / Bowling Green
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Fri Jan 05
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Boston College
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Sat Jan 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Fri Jan 19
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
7:37 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
7:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
5:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies and Wolverines Tie Saturday

ANN ARBOR, Mich. – The Michigan Tech hockey team had to settle for a 3-3 tie with No. 11 Michigan on Saturday (Oct. 22) night at Yost Ice Arena. The Huskies outshot the Wolverines 45-18, and dominated play all night, but couldn't squeak one more by UM goaltender Jack LaFontaine who had 42 saves.

"We played a real good game tonight," Tech coach Mel Pearson said. "When you outshoot a team like we did you are going to win a lot of hockey games. We put a lot of energy into last night's game and for us to come back the way we did tonight shows a lot character."

Down 2-1 entering the third period, Chris Leibinger quickly tied it up 5:47 in. He redirected a shot by Mark Auk that hit a Michigan defenseman's skate and slipped into the back of the net. Alex Smith added the secondary assist.

Thomas Beretta then gave the Huskies their first lead of the night two minutes later (7:41), as he carried the puck into the zone and fired low blocker for his first career goal.

Michigan tied it up with 4:10 left on the third period clock. An initial shot by Tony Calderone was saved and then his line mate took the legs out from under Husky goaltender Matt Wintjes and Cutler Martin put it into the open net. The goal was reviewed but stood.

The Huskies hit two pipes in the third period and had a pair of 2-on-1 rushes where the shooter couldn't get a stick on the puck. Tyler Heinonen also hit the pipe with 2:15 left in overtime.

Tech outshot UM 12-8 in the third and 5-0 in overtime.

Wintjes finished with 15 saves on the night and is now 1-2-1 on the season.

The two teams went to an exhibition shootout after extra session. UM won 2-1. Scoring for the Huskies was Mark Auk. Tyler Heinonen and Joel L'Esperance also shot for the Black and Gold.

"We're only going to get better, and if we continue to play like we did tonight we're going to be a good team," added Pearson

Michigan opened scoring 3:36 into the game on the power play. Sam Piazza took a long shot that was blocked by Shane Hanna. The puck squirted out to the side of the net, and Will Lockwood put it in.

Michael Neville knotted it up with his first of the season. Tyler Heinonen ripped a cross-ice pass to Cliff Watson who fed it out front. The puck went in off the skate of Neville. The play was reviewed and stood.

The Huskies dominated the second period with a 15-3 shot advantage. The second line with Jake Jackson, Dylan Steman and Joel L'Esperance applied a ton of pressure five minutes in. Moments later Reid Sturos went in on a shorthanded breakaway but fired a shot high.

Alex Kile gave the home team the 2-1 lead with an even strength tally with 40 seconds left in the second.

Tech was whistled for seven minor penalties while UM had five.

The Huskies return to the Upper Peninsula next weekend (Oct. 28-29) for a WCHA series against Northern Michigan. The two teams meet at the John MacInnes Student Ice Arena on Friday night and the Berry Events Center in Marquette Saturday.

Michigan Tech will induct the 1975 NCAA National Championship Team and former hockey players Brent Peterson and Scott White into the Sports Hall of Fame next weekend.

"I'm looking forward to the weekend," said Pearson. "The 75 team meant so much to our program and our university. Scott White and Brent Peterson are such fine individuals and great hockey players and hockey people. The games will also be exciting against Northern. I'm really looking forward to it."

Tickets are on sale for $18 for adults and $10 for youth. All tickets can be purchased at the SDC Central Ticket Office, online at BuyHuskiesTickets.com or over the phone at 906-487-2073.