No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 04
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 3 (if necessary)
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Fall in Overtime at Michigan State

EAST LANSING, Mich. – The Michigan Tech hockey team fell 3-2 in overtime to Michigan State Friday (Nov. 4) at Munn Ice Arena. The Huskies and Spartans went to the extra session for the sixth straight meeting and it was the home team scoring 1:22 in for the game winner on the power play.

"We got better as the night went on, but tonight was their night," Tech coach Mel Pearson said. "We have to be tougher mentally and physically and have a better start tomorrow night if we expect to win."

MSU (2-4-0) opened the game's scoring 7:33 after puck drop on a goal by Zack Osburn.

The Huskies quickly tied it up 32 seconds later as Mason Blacklock buried his first of the season and third of his career. Matt Roy carried the puck up ice and fed it over to Reid Sturos. Sturos slid a cross-ice pass to a streaking Blacklock who went backhand for the goal. MSU was also called for a hooking penalty on the play.

Jake Lucchini gave Tech a 2-1 lead with a power play tally 2:53 into the second period. Joel L'Esperance brought the puck out front of the net and took a shot that was blocked. Mark Auk also got a whack at it before it slipped over to a wide-open Lucchini who buried his third of the season and tenth of his career.

Mason Appleton scored the final two goals for the Spartans—both on the power play. He tied it up with a long shot from the sidewall that found its way into the back of the net with less than 4:00 to go in the second.

The Huskies were called for a penalty 73 seconds into overtime and Appleton capitalized with the game-winner nine seconds later.

Tech (3-6-2) outshot MSU 24-16, including numerous opportunities that didn't find the twine. Lucchini had chances 60 seconds into the game and early in the overtime that were both steered away. Blacklock almost buried his second of the game the shift after he scored as he jammed at the puck at the side of the net.

"Mason had a good game for us," added Pearson. "His size and speed were what we needed in a game like this, and he created some good scoring chances."

Jake Jackson grazed the post just before MSU tied it up at two, and Dylan Steman had two shots right out front of the MSU net that were saved in the second period.

Tech goaltender Angus Redmond made his third straight start, stopping 13 shots. Ed Minney had 22 saves for the Spartans.

The Huskies were 1-for-3 on the power play and were called for two minor penalties—the fewest all season. MSU capitalized on both of its man advantage situations.

The two teams wrap-up the nonconference series on Saturday (Nov. 5) with a 7:05 p.m. puck drop.