No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 04
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 3 (if necessary)
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Split After 4-2 Victory Over No. 12 Notre Dame

SOUTH BEND, Ind. – The Michigan Tech hockey team earned a nonconference split with a 4-2 win over No. 12 Notre Dame Saturday (Jan. 7) from the Compton Family Ice Center. The Huskies improved to 14-9-3 and wrapped up nonconference play with the win, getting goals from four different players.

The Huskies scored the game's final two goals with the game-winner coming from senior Michael Neville and freshman Alex Smith scoring the insurance goal later in the third. Smith also had an assist in the second period for his third multipoint game of the season.

"It was a total team effort," Tech coach Mel Pearson said. "We did a lot of little things better tonight than last night. We competed harder, won more battles along the boards, and we finally hit the net.

"For us to come in here and put a four spot up on them, and get a big win on the road, is good. This will give us a little confidence going into next weekend."

The two teams entered the third period knotted up at two. Neville's go-ahead goal was scored 4:23 into the final frame after he shot in a loose puck that fluttered past UND goaltender Cal Petersen's shoulder. It was Neville's second game-winner of the season and fifth tally overall. Matt Roy assisted on the play with a blast from the point that hit a defenseman before bouncing on to Neville's stick.

Tech kept pressure up after the goal, using a power play to keep the puck in the offensive zone. Joel L'Esperance peppered Petersen with three quick shots during the man advantage, including one that drew iron.

The Huskies then had to kill off a penalty, and Smith added to the lead 10 seconds after UND's power play expired, scoring on a 2-on-1 rush. He carried the puck into the zone and flipped a shot over Petersen's blocker for his fifth of the year with assists going to Reid Sturos and Cliff Watson.

Notre Dame (12-7-2) added the extra attacker for a few seconds in the late stages before an icing call put him back in the net, and the Huskies sealed their first win in South Bend since November 1982 with a few blocked shots.

The home team took the lead in the first period on a power play goal by Bobby Nardella 11:56 into the game.

Jake Jackson tied it up for Tech as he finished off a pass from Smith for his fifth of the year only 2:04 into the second. Smith carried it into the zone on a 2-on-1 and fed it over to Jackson who calmly chipped it up over Petersen.

Gavin Gould then gave the Huskies their first lead of the weekend with the fourth of his freshman season almost six minutes later. He carried the puck out from the corner and took a shot that hit a defenseman's skate and deflected into the net. Jake Lucchini and Shane Hanna assisted on the play.

Notre Dame evened it up at two 9:28 into the second, as Cam Morrison went 1-on-1 with his defender and fired scored far side on Angus Redmond.

Neville had a chance to take the lead late in the second when he made a move to get Petersen out of his net but couldn't get a shot off into the open cage.

Tech outshot UND 34-25, taking 12 shots in each of the first two periods. Redmond finished with 23 saves for the second night in a row. Petersen stopped 30 shots for the home team.

The Huskies return home for two WCHA series in a row, beginning against the Alaska Anchorage Seawolves next weekend (Jan. 13-14).

"I'm looking forward to getting some home games, and we have a good Anchorage team coming in," said Pearson.

Tech won and tied with the Seawolves in November up in Alaska. The puck drops at 7:07 p.m. both nights from the John MacInnes Student Ice Arena.