No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
2:37 PM
Michigan State
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Tue Jan 02
TBA
Michigan / Bowling Green
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Fri Jan 05
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Boston College
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Sat Jan 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Fri Jan 19
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
7:37 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
7:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
5:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Tie Chargers Saturday, Get Extra WCHA Point in Shootout

HUNTSVILLE, Ala. – The Michigan Tech hockey team secured five out six possible WCHA points this weekend at Alabama Huntsville, wrapping up the season series with a 4-4 draw Saturday (Jan. 28) from the Von Braun Center. The Huskies picked up the crucial extra point with a marathon shootout as Chris Gerrie finally put one in the back of the net in the ninth round.

"We weren't as ready as we needed to be tonight," Tech coach Mel Pearson said. "Having said that, I give our players a lot of credit that they continued to battle and found a way to get that extra point."

The Huskies trailed in the final stages of the game, pulling goaltender Angus Redmond to add the extra attacker. Jake Lucchini's shot with 11 seconds left found the back of the net to tie it up for the third time on the night, deflecting off a UAH defender. Reid Sturos and Shane Hanna got the assists on Lucchini's team-leading 10th goal of the season.

Hanna, Mitch Reinke, Lucchini, Joel L'Esperance, Jake Jackson, Tyler Heinonen, Mark Auk, and Michael Neville all had attempts in the shootout before Gerrie put the Huskies up and Redmond saved the final Charger attempt to seal it.

"We're getting too tight to the goalie and just throwing things at him and not getting him moving," Pearson said about the shootout. "Chris came in on an angle with some speed and got him moving. We're going to have to get a little more serious practicing the shootout. Those points are important."

The Black and Gold had to climb out of a deficit three times during the game. Down 2-0 entering the second period, Matt Roy scored once in the second and again in the third to knot it up. He had a power play goal at the midpoint of the game assisted by Auk for his fourth of the season and then buried 6:30 into the third from Neville and Hanna.

Brennan Saulnier gave the home team the lead again 4:10 after Roy's equalizer with a power play tally from Kurt Gosselin and Brandon Parker.

Mitch Reinke—who now has a goal in three straight games and five points in the last four games—again tied it up for Tech on the power play 37 seconds later. Hanna and L'Esperance assisted on Reinke's fourth goal of his freshman year.

Matt Salhany scored what looked like the game-winner with 2:16 left on the clock before Lucchini tied it up in the closing moments of the third.

Hans Gorowsky (shorthanded) and Kurt Gosselin (power play) scored the two first period goals for Huntsville.

The Huskies outshot the Chargers 35-23, including 13 in the second and 11 in the third. Redmond finished with 19 saves and stopped all nine shootout attempts by UAH. Jordan Uhelski stopped 31 shots for the home team.

Both teams buried two power play goals as Tech was 2-for-7 and UAH was 2-for-4 on the man advantage.

The Huskies have never lost to the Chargers, improving to 12-0-2 all-time with a 2-0-2 mark this season. The Black and Gold also remained unbeaten in its last nine WCHA games.

Tech is 16-9-7 overall and 13-3-6-3 in the WCHA and stays on the road next weekend (Feb 3-4) for a matchup of the top two WCHA teams at Bemidji State. The Beavers lead the Huskies by four points in the league standings and the two teams split their series in Houghton in December.