No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 04
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 3 (if necessary)
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Tech Ties LSSU; Wins Shootout for Extra WCHA Point

SAULT STE. MARIE, Mich. – The No. 13-ranked Michigan Tech hockey team tied Lake Superior State 2-2 Saturday (Oct. 14) night to remain unbeaten in the last 12 games against the Lakers. Jake Lucchini scored in the fourth round of the shootout to give Tech the extra WCHA point after a 5-on-5 overtime and a 3-on-3 overtime.

The Huskies are unbeaten in their last four games and are 3-1-1 overall and 1-0-1-1 in the WCHA. LSSU is 1-2-1 on the season and 0-1-1-0 in league play.

"I'm pleased with the work ethic and execution, so I can live with the result," Tech coach Joe Shawhan said. "To get two points out of it is huge. We all know how important those points are at the end of the season."

Tech got behind 1-0 on a goal by J.T. Henke 8:30 into the game.

Joel L'Esperance tied it up just over 7:00 later on the power play, scoring his fourth of the season. Mark Auk fed it up the ice and L'Esperance made a beautiful move to get by his defender and roofed the puck into the back of the net. Mitch Reinke added the secondary assist.

Alex Gillies put Tech in front with 2:38 left on the first period clock for his first of the season. His first shot was saved but he had two chances on the rebound and the third attempt made its way under LSSU goaltender Mareks Mitens. Seamus Donohue and Reinke assisted on the tally.

There wasn't any scoring in the second period as the Huskies made a pair of defensive plays. Donohue lifted the stick of Diego Cuglietta 13:00 in at the front of the crease, and Patrick Munson tipped away a breakaway shot by Jake Hand 2:00 later.

LSSU thought they tied the game 4:11 into the third, but officials reviewed the play and saw that the puck hit the crossbar and then the post and never crossed the goal line.

The Huskies then killed off the first of two crucial 5-on-3 penalties in the third, before Anthony Nellis did knot it up at the 8:44 mark. He scored on a rebound from Henke and Kyle Chatham.

L'Esperance was looking for the game winner with 7:00 left but his shot hit the post on a 2-on-1 with Jake Lucchini.

Both teams had power plays down the stretch. LSSU had 42 seconds of 5-on-3 that the Huskies killed off and then Tech had a power play with 3:39 remaining in regulation. Mitens stood tall down the stretch, finishing with 40 saves in the game.

"We had a pretty good penalty kill session before the game," added Shawhan. "It's a work in progress. We used a lot of guys in those situations, and I was really proud of the effort on that and that was what I told them after the game."

In the first overtime, Raymond Brice had the best scoring chances. He had a quick shot as he spun around 2:00 in and then hit the post with 45 seconds left. Tech outshot LSSU 6-2 in the 5-on-5 frame.

L'Esperance drew a penalty as he was hooked on a breakaway during the 3-on-3. An LSSU defender covered the puck in the crease moments later resulting in a penalty shot for Tech. Auk patiently walked in and took backhand shot that was steered away by Mitens.

In the shootout, Reinke, Auk, and Jake Jackson all had attempts before Lucchini finally put a puck past Mitens in the fourth round. Max Humitz never got a shot off in the Lakers' final attempt as Munson added two saves.

Tech outshot LSSU 42-25 with 17 in the first, nine in the second, 10 in the third and six in overtime.

LSSU was called for six minors and the Huskies five. Tech was 1-for-5 on the power play and 4-for-4 on the penalty kill.

The two teams will meet again on December 15-16 in Houghton. The Huskies host Alabama Huntsville in the home opener for the second year in a row next weekend (Oct. 20-21) at the John MacInnes Student Ice Arena.