No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
Final
2 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
Final
5 Michigan Tech
3 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Fri Mar 09
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 11
Final - OT
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 3
Sat Mar 17
Final
2 Michigan Tech
0 at Northern Michigan
WCHA Championship Game
Fri Mar 23
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Notre Dame
@ Bridgeport, CT NCAA Tournament - East Region Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Huskies Open Home Schedule With 5-4 Win Over UAH

HOUGHTON, Mich. – The No. 15-ranked Michigan Tech hockey team defeated Alabama Huntsville 5-4 in the home opener at the John MacInnes Student Ice Arena Friday (Oct. 20). Jake Lucchini scored the game-winner with 5:29 remaining to extend Tech's unbeaten streak to five games.

Down by a goal midway through the third period, Justin Misiak tied it at four on the power play for his second of the season. Mark Auk fed Misiak at the side of the net with Lucchini adding the second assist.

Just over 4:00 later Lucchini kicked a bouncing puck back to his stick and his snap shot found the upper corner for the go-ahead tally. For Lucchini, it was his second of the year and 20th of his career. L'Esperance assisted with the feed across the blue line, while Gavin Gould also added an assist.

"Joel made a nice play up to me," Lucchini said. "I came across the blue line and was going to pull it to my forehand, but I lost it. Then it came back to me so I thought, 'I should probably shoot.' It went in I guess. It was nice."

Huntsville (0-3-0, 0-1-1 WCHA) added some pressure late in third but was called for a penalty with 1:33 left and wasn't able to add the extra attacker until under 10 seconds remained.

"I give them [Alabama Huntsville] total credit for the way they battled tonight," Tech coach Joe Shawhan said. "They're well coached and came after us hard. I feel fortunate to come out of that with a win. Every point is important for us, and we're still trying to grow as a team and trying to get better every night."

The Huskies (4-1-1, 2-0-1-1 WCHA) jumped out to an early lead after a power play goal by Dane Birks only 1:41 into the game. Keegan Ford swung the puck across the top of the zone to Birks who blasted in a one-timer for his second of the season and fourth of his career. Greyson Reitmeier also assisted.

The Chargers tied it up 5:00 later with their only even strength tally of the night off the stick of Christian Rajic.

Mitch Reinke and L'Esperance scored in the second period to put the home team up 3-1. Reinke used a screen by Dylan Steman to score his first of the season at the 9:14 mark. The play was setup on a steal by Raymond Brice who had the only assist.

L'Esperance scored on the power play for his fifth of the season and a two-goal lead at 13:16. He put in a rebound after Reinke's long shot was saved out front. Lucchini picked up the first of three points on the night with the secondary helper.

UAH then went on to score three straight power play goals to take the lead. Brennan Saulnier scored with 3:24 left in the second, and Josh Kestner tied it up 1:10 later.

Tyler Poulsen gave the visitors the lead 7:31 into the third, before the Huskies scored the game's final two goals.

Tech outshot UAH 38-28, including an 18-8 advantage in the third period. Husky goaltender Patrick Munson had 24 saves with 10 coming in the opening frame. Jordan Uhelski stopped 33 shots for the Chargers.

"We have to develop some players into elite penalty killers," added Shawhan. "We have to find those guys that will study it and take pride in it."

UAH was called for eight penalties, while Tech was whistled for four. The Huskies were 3-for-8 on the man advantage and rank third in the nation scoring on 37.9 percent of their chances.

ArcelorMittal, the world's leading steel and mining company, sponsored Friday's game and donated 1,000 7th Man T-shirts to Tech students. The student section was sold-out, and it was the fourth year in a row ArcelorMittal sponsored a game. ArcelorMittal employs over 60 Michigan Tech graduates.

Tech also unveiled a new WCHA Tournament Championship banner before the game, commemorating the 10 times the Huskies have won the league playoffs.

The two teams wrap-up the WCHA series on Saturday (Oct. 21) at 7:07 p.m.