No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
7:07 PM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
2:37 PM
Michigan State
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Tue Jan 02
TBA
Michigan / Bowling Green
vs. Michigan Tech
@ 53rd GLI - Little Caesars Arena (Detroit)
Fri Jan 05
8:00 PM
Michigan Tech
vs. Boston College
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Sat Jan 06
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. TBA
@ Ice Vegas Invitational - Las Vegas, Nev.
Fri Jan 19
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
7:07 PM
Alaska
Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
7:37 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
7:07 PM
Michigan Tech
at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
7:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
5:07 PM
Bemidji State
Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
7:07 PM
Arizona State
Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
7:07 PM
Northern Michigan
Michigan Tech
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Tech Comes Back for 3-3 Tie Saturday at UAA

ANCHORAGE, Alaska – The Michigan Tech hockey team extended its unbeaten streak at Alaska Anchorage to seven games with a 3-3 tie Saturday (Nov. 18) at Sullivan Arena. The Seawolves earned the extra WCHA point for the second night in a row with a 3-on-3 overtime goal with 1:43 left on the clock.

The Huskies came back from a two-goal third period deficit and dominated in shots on goal for the second night in a row.

"I'm proud of the effort," Tech coach Joe Shawhan said. "There is a lot of frustration with the lack of scoring. We had tremendous opportunities to score and missed about eight wide-open nets. I give our guys a ton of credit for fighting through that frustration and tying it up.

"Most of the games we are going to win this year are going to be one-goal wins. We have to learn how to play in those games, not beat ourselves, and play with character."

Down 3-1, Dane Birks buried his third of the season to bring the Black and Gold to within one 5:00 into the third. On the man advantage, he took a long blast through traffic with Keegan Ford and Thomas Beretta assisting on the play.

Alex Smith tied it at three, scoring his first of the season, with 3:50 remaining in the third, as he banged in a loose puck near the faceoff dot to the left of the UAA net. Jake Jackson and Birks added the assists.

In the first overtime, Tech dominated in shots 5-1. Brent Baltus and Gavin Gould both had quality scoring chances in the opening minute. Baltus carried the puck to the front of the net but had his backhand shot saved. Gould chipped at a rebound that just squeaked wide moments later. Joel L'Esperance hit the post with 2:15 on the OT clock as he was trying to finish off a 2-on-1 rush with Jake Lucchini.

The Huskies controlled much of the play in the 3-on-3, but Trey deGraaf scored for the Seawolves after he brought the puck to the front of the net and Tech goaltender Patrick Munson missed on the poke check.

Like Friday night, the Black and Gold took an early lead before the home team tied it up. Alex Gillies buried his second of the year 2:44 into the game, tipping in Mitch Reinke's long shot. Greyson Reitmeier won the draw back to Reinke to pick up the secondary assist.

Eric Sinclair tied it up just over 3:00 later, capitalizing on a Husky turnover. Natha Renouf and deGraaf assisted on the play.

UAA (1-7-4, 1-2-3-3 WCHA) then took its first lead of the weekend with 2:39 remaining before the first intermission on a goal by Jonah Renouf.

Jeremiah Luedtke scored the lone goal of the second period 15:14 in for the 3-1 Anchorage lead.

Tech took 80 total shots on the night. 40 made it to the net, 15 were blocked by the defense, and 25 missed the net.

Robbie Beydoun made his second career start for Tech, stopping 8-of-11 shots before Munson came in relief. Munson stopped all 13 shots he faced in the final 35:14 of the game.

Both teams were whistled for six penalties. Tech was 1-for-5 on the power play and 5-for-5 on the penalty kill.

Tech is 5-6-4 overall and 3-5-4-1 in the WCHA and continues its road trip with a WCHA series at Alaska after Thanksgiving on November 24-25. The puck drops at 11:07 p.m. both nights against the Nanooks at the Carlson Center.