No Event
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 at Wisconsin
US Hockey Hall of Fame Game
Fri Oct 06
Final
3 Union
6 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Duluth, Minn.
Sat Oct 07
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota Duluth
Ice Breaker Tournament - Duluth, Minn.
Fri Oct 13
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Sat Oct 14
Final Shootout - Away
2 Michigan Tech
2 at Lake Superior State
Great Lake State Weekend
Fri Oct 20
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Oct 21
Final
4 Alabama Huntsville
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Oct 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Minnesota State
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Michigan Tech
5 at Minnesota State
Fri Nov 03
Final
2 Bowling Green
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Nov 04
Final - OT
2 Bowling Green
2 Michigan Tech
Fri Nov 10
Final
1 Northern Michigan
4 Michigan Tech
Military Appreciation Weekend- Biggby Coffee
Sat Nov 11
Final
0 Michigan Tech
4 at Northern Michigan
Fri Nov 17
Final - OT
1 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska Anchorage
Sat Nov 18
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
3 at Alaska Anchorage
Fri Nov 24
Final - OT
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Alaska
Sat Nov 25
Final
5 Michigan Tech
1 at Alaska
Fri Dec 08
Final
4 Ferris State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 09
Final
1 Ferris State
5 Michigan Tech
Teddy Bear Toss
Fri Dec 15
Final
0 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
Sat Dec 16
Final Shootout - Home
3 Lake Superior State
3 Michigan Tech
$50,000 Truck Promo
Mon Jan 01
Final
2 Michigan State
5 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich
Tue Jan 02
Final
4 Bowling Green
1 vs. Michigan Tech
@ Detroit, Mich.
Fri Jan 05
Final
4 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Boston College
@ LAS VEGAS, NV
Sat Jan 06
Final
2 Michigan Tech
3 vs. Arizona State
@ Las Vegas, NV
Fri Jan 19
Final
2 Alaska
5 Michigan Tech
Sat Jan 20
Final
3 Alaska
4 Michigan Tech
Fri Jan 26
Final
3 Michigan Tech
4 at Ferris State
Sat Jan 27
Final
1 Michigan Tech
3 at Ferris State
Fri Feb 02
Final
2 Michigan Tech
7 at Bowling Green
Sat Feb 03
Final
4 Michigan Tech
0 at Bowling Green
Fri Feb 09
Final
4 Bemidji State
2 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Sat Feb 10
Final
1 Bemidji State
5 Michigan Tech
Winter Carnival
Fri Feb 16
Final - OT
2 Arizona State
1 Michigan Tech
Sat Feb 17
Final
3 Arizona State
5 Michigan Tech
Econo Foods Kids Day
Fri Feb 23
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Northern Michigan
Sat Feb 24
Final
2 Northern Michigan
3 Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 02
Final
5 Michigan Tech
3 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 03
Final
5 Michigan Tech
4 at Bemidji State
WCHA Quarterfinal - Game 2
Fri Mar 09
Final
1 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 1
Sat Mar 10
Final
4 Michigan Tech
2 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 2
Sun Mar 11
Final - OT
2 Michigan Tech
1 at Minnesota State
WCHA Semifinal - Game 3
Sat Mar 17
Final
2 Michigan Tech
0 at Northern Michigan
WCHA Championship Game
Fri Mar 23
Final - OT
3 Michigan Tech
4 vs. Notre Dame
@ Bridgeport, CT NCAA Tournament - East Region Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Huskies claim sixth straight Winter Carnival, Kero named MVP

HOUGHTON, Mich. – Michigan Tech won the MacInnes Cup as Winter Carnival champions for the sixth straight season after defeating Bemidji State 5-1 Saturday (Feb. 10) at the John MacInnes Student Ice Arena. The Huskies outscored the Beavers 7-5 on the weekend to capture the trophy.

"I'm extremely proud of the guys," Tech coach Joe Shawhan said. "They competed hard tonight and played with a lot of pride and courage from the goaltender on out. I'm happy for the seniors for winning their fourth straight Winter Carnival. I want them to enjoy this."

Devin Kero was named MVP of the series after stopping 36-of-37 shots in his third straight win as the starter. He stopped eight shots in the first, nine in the second, and 19 in the third.

"That was as good of a college game as you're going to see a goalie play," Shawhan added. "He was on every puck tonight. He shut the door for us."

"I've been to a lot of Winter Carnivals," Kero said. "I know how much John MacInnes means to this university. I've sat around for four years and was finally able to be a part of it. It was a lot of fun tonight."

Five different Huskies scored in the game as Tech buried four straight to break a 1-1 first intermission tie.

Mason Blacklock found the back of the net for his first of the season 5:25 into the game to give the Black and Gold the lead. He redirected a shot by Raymond Brice for the fourth of his career.

Bemidji State (15-11-6, 12-8-4-2 WCHA) tied it up just over 7:00 later for its only goal of the game. Jordan Heller scored his third of the weekend with two seconds left on a power play from Aaron Miller and Justin Baudry.

Tech then capitalized on back-to-back power plays in the first half of the second period. Brent Baltus—playing for the first time since January 6—put in a rebound 7:17 into the second for a 2-1 lead. The initial shot by Joel L'Esperance was saved as he picked up the first of two assists on the evening.

"It was nice to be back out there with the guys," Baltus said. "Winter Carnival is a lot of fun to be a part of and our fans are always incredible to play in front of."

Mark Auk put the Huskies up 3-1 2:26 later when he one-timed in an outlet pass by Jake Lucchini for his sixth of the season on the man advantage. Seamus Donohue also assisted on the play.

Gavin Gould gave the Black and Gold the margin it needed to secure the MacInnes Cup at the 11:45 mark of the second, burying his team-leading 11th of the season. L'Esperance carried the puck into the zone and it bounced off a defender out front. Gould chipped it under the goaltender for the 4-1 lead. Auk added the second assist.

The Huskies rounded out scoring late in the third period when Greyson Reitmeier stepped out of the penalty box and caught a three-quarter ice pass from Dane Birks and scored on a breakaway. The smooth backhanded goal gave Reitmeier his fourth of the season.

Michael Bitzer started the game for the Beavers, stopping 12 shots. Jack Burgart relieved him after Tech's fourth goal. Burgart had seven saves in the game's final 28:15.

The two teams combined for eight minor penalties. The Huskies were 2-for-3 on the power play and 2-for-3 on the penalty kill.

Michigan Tech President Glenn Mroz was recognized on the ice before the game and dropped the puck. Mroz is stepping down and returning to the faculty ranks this summer after 14 years as President.

Tech remains home next weekend (Feb. 16-17), hosting Arizona State at the MacInnes Student Ice Arena in the final nonconference games of the season. The two teams met earlier this year at the Ice Vegas Invitational. It is the Sun Devils third year in NCAA Division I college hockey and will be their first-ever visit to Houghton.