Fri Sep 16
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 17
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Sep 18
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sat Mar 18
10:00 AM
Walsh
Michigan Tech
Sun Mar 19
10:00 AM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 24
2:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Findlay
Sat Mar 25
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Hillsdale
Sat Apr 01
10:00 AM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 02
10:00 AM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 08
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Fri Apr 14
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Apr 15
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Fri Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
Sat Apr 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
Sun Apr 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Tennis

Three-Time NCAA Champions Six Time WCHA Champions

Men's Tennis Opens With Two Wins in Wisconsin

Men's Tennis Opens With Two Wins in Wisconsin

GREEN BAY, Wis. — The Michigan Tech men's tennis team opened with a pair of wins at Western Racquet Club in Green Bay Saturday (Feb. 2). The Huskies earned a 7-2 win over St. Norbert in the morning and a 6-3 victory over Carleton last night.

Tech's five new faces in the lineup all went 2-0 in singles play on the day.

In the match vs. St. Norbert, Michigan Tech swept the top five singles flights and the bottom two doubles flights. No. 1 singles player Felipe dos Santos opened his Huskies career with a 6-0, 6-0 score. Javier Oliveros, Built Yumuang and Pedro Rodriguez all claimed straight set wins at Nos. 2-4, respectively, without losing more than three games total. Nick Kremkow also earned his first collegiate win with a 6-3, 6-4 victory at No. 5.

After a short break, the Huskies returned to action vs. Carleton. The Knights gained a 2-1 lead after doubles with an 8-5 win at No. 2 and an 8-2 win at No. 3.

Tech rebounded in singles play when five of the six flights went in its favor. Dos Santos, Oliveros, Yumuang, Rodriguez and Nick Kremkow all won their matches again. Kremkow's was the closest as he came back from losing the first set for a 6-7 (2), 6-3, 10-4 victory.

"It's great to start out with a couple wins," said head coach Kevin Kalinec. "I think we learned some things about our team, and we'll try to get better in some areas in practice this week."

Michigan Tech will return to action next weekend in St. Cloud, Minn. The Huskies have three matches starting Friday (Feb. 8) vs. St. Cloud State.