No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 16
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 17
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Sep 18
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sat Mar 18
10:00 AM
Walsh
Michigan Tech
Sun Mar 19
10:00 AM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 24
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Findlay
Sat Mar 25
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Hillsdale
Sat Apr 01
10:00 AM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 02
10:00 AM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 08
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Fri Apr 14
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Apr 15
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Fri Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
Sat Apr 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
Sun Apr 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Stay Unbeaten in Men's Tennis

Huskies Stay Unbeaten in Men's Tennis

ST. CLOUD, Minn. — The Michigan Tech men's tennis team improved to 5-0 with three wins over the weekend in Minnesota. The Huskies defeated St. Cloud State, UW-Eau Claire and St. John's (Minn.) in weekend action.

The Black and Gold swept St. Cloud State Friday (Feb. 8) by a 9-0 score. The closest of the matches came at No. 1 singles, where Felipe Dos Santos fought off three match points in the second set before winning 3-6, 7-6, 10-8 in a third-set super tiebreaker. Jimmy Konarske earned his first singles win of the year with a 6-0, 7-5 score at No. 4.

Tech faced UW-Eau Claire on Saturday (Feb. 9) morning and earned a 6-3 come-from-behind victory. The Blugolds led 2-1 after doubles. Dos Santos and Pedro Rodriguez claimed an 8-4 victory at No. 1, but UWEC won at Nos. 2 and 3 doubles by scores of 9-7 and 8-5, respectively. The Huskies bounced back in singles by taking five of the six flights. The top four flights all went to the Huskies in straight sets. Konarske, who was battling an injury, played a marathon match at No. 5 singles before falling 6-7 (1), 6-1, 7-6 (4). Nick Kremkow lost his first set, but remained unbeaten on the season with a 6-7, 6-2, 10-3 decision.

Saturday (Feb. 9) night, Michigan Tech finished off an undefeated weekend with an 8-1 victory over St. John's. The Huskies played without Konarske, and the lone point recorded by SJU came at No. 3 doubles 8-4 where brothers Andrew and Nick Kremkow partnered together for the first time all season. Dos Santos and Rodriguez pulled out a 9-8 (1) decision at No. 1 doubles, and all six singles flights were decided in straight sets in favor of the Black and Gold. Built Yumuang won 6-0, 6-0, and finished off the weekend by losing just one game in six total sets at No. 3 singles.

The five new players in Tech's lineup continue to all remain undefeated. Dos Santos, Javier Oliveros, Yumuang, Rodriguez and Nick Kremkow are all 5-0 so far in 2013.

Michigan Tech will open Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference action this coming weekend with three matches at home starting Saturday (Feb. 15) vs. Lake Erie. The three matches comprise half of the Huskies' 2013 home schedule.