Sat Mar 10
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Belmont Abbey
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Tue Mar 13
TBA
West Liberty
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Wed Mar 14
TBA
Kutztown
vs. Michigan Tech
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Thu Mar 15
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Charleston (W.V.)
@ Spring Tennis Fest - Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Mar 23
7:00 PM
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Mar 24
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sun Mar 25
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Mar 31
10:00 AM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 07
10:00 AM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 08
10:00 AM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Fri Apr 13
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Sat Apr 14
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Fri Apr 20
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sat Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sun Apr 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Men's Tennis Moves to 8-0 with Weekend Sweep

Men's Tennis Moves to 8-0 with Weekend Sweep

HOUGHTON, Mich. — Michigan Tech remained undefeated in men's tennis with three big wins in the last three days. The Huskies beat Lake Erie 8-1 on Saturday (Feb. 16), Walsh 8-1 on Sunday (Feb. 17) and Malone 9-0 today (Feb. 18). Tech is now 8-0 overall and 3-0 in GLIAC play.

"It was a good, solid weekend for us," said head coach Kevin Kalinec. "Everybody in the lineup contributed and helped us get off to a good start in the GLIAC."

In the Lake Erie match, Tech won every flight except No. 1 singles. Huskies' Nos. 3, 4 and 6 singles players Built Yumuang, Pedro Rodriguez and Jimmy Konarske all played to perfect 6-0, 6-0 scores. No. 2 Javier Oliveros was a 6-3, 6-3 winner and No. 5 Nick Kremkow won 6-3, 3-6, 10-4 in a super tiebreaker.

The Huskies followed nearly the same recipe for success Sunday vs. Walsh. The Black and Gold swept doubles play and took five of the six singles matches. No. 1 Felipe Dos Santos won his first set 6-3, lost the second 6-0, then came back for a 13-11 win in a super tiebreaker. Yumuang wasn't quite able to make the comeback. He won the first set 6-3, but fell 6-4 in the second and 14-12 in the super tiebreaker. Tech players earned wins in all the other flights in straight sets.

Tech wrapped up the weekend with a 9-0 sweep of Malone. The closest matches of the day came at No. 1 doubles, where Dos Santos and Rodriguez defeated Youssef Sonbaty and Nate Davis 8-4, and No. 2 singles, where Oliveros shook off a slow start to win 5-7, 6-2, 10-5 in a super tiebreaker. Every other flight was decided in straight sets.

Three Michigan Tech individuals remain unbeaten on the season. Oliveros, Rodriguez and Nick Kremkow are all 8-0.

"We can enjoy these wins for only a little bit," said Kalinec. "We've got tough matches coming up this weekend on the road."

Michigan Tech will travel to Illinois to face Lewis on Friday (Feb. 22) and Olivet Nazarene on Saturday (Feb. 23).