No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 16
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 17
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Sep 18
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. ITA Regional
@ Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Bulldog Invitational
@ Big Rapids, MI
Sat Mar 18
10:00 AM
Walsh
Michigan Tech
Sun Mar 19
10:00 AM
Tiffin
Michigan Tech
Fri Mar 24
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Findlay
Sat Mar 25
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Hillsdale
Sat Apr 01
10:00 AM
Grand Valley State
Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 02
10:00 AM
Ferris State
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 08
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Lake Superior State
Fri Apr 14
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Sat Apr 15
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Fri Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
Sat Apr 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
Sun Apr 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, MI
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Tech Earns 5-4 Win over Wayne in GLIAC Men's Tennis

Tech Earns 5-4 Win over Wayne in GLIAC Men's Tennis

HOUGHTON, Mich. — The Michigan Tech men's tennis team earned an important 5-4 victory over Wayne State today at Gates Tennis Center. The Huskies swept doubles, then claimed two singles points to improve to 13-6 overall and 4-3 in the GLIAC. The Warriors (7-5, 4-1 GLIAC) suffered their first league loss.

There were close matches on nearly every court at Gates Tennis Center today. It started with doubles, where Felipe Dos Santos and Pedro Rodriguez were down 7-5 in their pro set at No. 1 before rattling off four straight games to claim a 9-7 decision. The Huskies went on to claim all three doubles points with an 8-4 win at No. 2 and an 8-5 win at No. 3.

Dos Santos cruised to a 6-4, 6-2 victory at No. 1 singles to make the team score 4-0 in favor of the Black and Gold. The fifth team point was more difficult to come by.

Rodriguez had two match points in a second set tiebreaker, but ended up falling 10-8 and going to a third set. Meanwhile, Thomas Durcret defeated Built Yumuang 6-3, 6-2 at No. 3 to give the Warriors their first team point.

At No. 2 singles, Javier Oliveros won his first set 6-4, but fell 7-5 in the second, sending his match to a decisive third set.

Tech maintained a 4-1 lead in the team score but all four remaining matches on the courts could have gone either way. Only one did go in favor of the Huskies. Rodriguez dominated his third set for a 7-5, 6-7 (8), 6-0 victory.

Oliveros fell 4-6, 7-5, 6-4 at No. 2. Nick Kremkow forced a third-set tiebreaker in his match before falling 6-2, 6-7 (7), 10-6. WSU closed out the day with a 7-5, 6-2 win at No. 6 singles.

"This was our biggest win of the season," said head coach Kevin Kalinec. "Wayne is a good team, and we knew doubles was going to be important. We worked hard on doubles all week and it really paid off."

Michigan Tech will host Lake Superior State next Saturday (Apr. 6) at 10 a.m.