Fri Mar 09
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. Spring Tennis Fest (Mar. 9-17)
@ Hilton Head, S.C.
Fri Mar 23
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Grand Valley State
Sat Mar 24
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Ferris State
Sun Mar 25
10:00 AM
Michigan Tech
at Northwood
Sat Mar 31
10:00 AM
Lake Superior State
Michigan Tech
Sat Apr 07
10:00 AM
Purdue Northwest
Michigan Tech
Sun Apr 08
10:00 AM
Davenport
Michigan Tech
Fri Apr 13
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Tiffin
Sat Apr 14
TBA
Michigan Tech
at Wayne State
Fri Apr 20
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sat Apr 21
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
Sun Apr 22
TBA
Michigan Tech
vs. GLIAC Tournament
@ Midland, Mich.
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Huskies Sweep Lakers 9-0 in GLIAC Men's Tennis

Huskies Sweep Lakers 9-0 in GLIAC Men's Tennis

HOUGHTON, Mich. — The Michigan Tech men's tennis team captured a 9-0 victory over Lake Superior State today at Gates Tennis Center. The Huskies used comebacks in four of the nine flights to earn their fourth clean sweep of the season.

Tech trailed at both Nos. 2 and 3 doubles before winning both. Javier Oliveros and Built Yumuang were down a break late in their No. 2 pro-set, but rallied for a 9-8 (5) victory as Oliveros slammed a return winner on match point.

At No. 3, Andrew Kremkow and Jimmy Konarske were behind 5-2 before turning things around. They fought off five match points including a triple match point down 7-6. They ended up winning three straight games to close out the pro set 9-7.

In singles. No. 1 Felipe Dos Santos battled an injury and a 5-2 first-set deficit to earn a 7-6 (2), 6-0 triumph. He closed the match by winning 11 of the last 12 games.

Nick Kremkow (No. 5 singles) also overcame an early deficit. He trailed 3-0 in his opening set before prevailing 6-4, 6-2.

Pedro Rodriquez earned a 6-0, 6-0 victory at No. 4. Oliveros, Yumuang, and Konarske were straight set winners as well.

"We came out a little flat, but I liked the way we battled back," said head coach Kevin Kalinec. "This was another important  win for us in conference play as we close out the season on the road."

The match was Tech's last home tilt of 2013. The Huskies will travel to Ohio for three matches next weekend beginning Friday (April 12) at Ohio Dominican at 3 p.m.

Michigan Tech is now 14-6 overall and 5-3 in GLIAC play.